NATAL PLUMS : Part TWO - Let's explore this rare fruit more closely!!!

in #food7 years ago

Hello my lovely friends of the world of Steemit!

Ten days back, I made a first post on NATAL PLUMS which you can find here! I mainly showed you guys how these rare fruits looks like as well as their tree!

DSC_0031.JPG


In this second part, I will be showing you how the fruit looks in the inside as well as other characteristic of it! As mentioned last time, these fruits are native to South Africa and are becoming more and more rare here in Mauritius!

Natal plums are white in color when still 'green', then they turn pinkish when they start to be ready to eat and then purple black when ripened!

I made two different recipes on these lovely fruits which I will share on some other posts - Part three and four - Coming soon!
I actually used the pinkish ones for one recipe and the purple black ones for another recipe! They were both super yummy! Stay tuned for these!


DSC_0032.JPG

This is a small branch that I cut from the Natal Plum tree! We have to be very careful as the branches are full of long thorns!!!


DSC_0033.JPG

A closer look on the long thorn...


DSC_0035.JPG

As I was so curious to know more on this fruit, I decided to cut one of each color to see what's inside...

Inside the white one, there were no seeds...they were just starting to develop!

Inside the pinkish one, you can see that the seeds already formed and are quite soft in texture! Whereas the seeds of the purple one are very hard!

The textures and taste of the flesh also are very different from one to another! The white one is very firm and acidic, the pinkish one less firm semi acidic and the purple black one is soft and have the taste of cranberries!!!

Let me show you a closer look of the 3!
DSC_0036.JPG


I really had a great time making some experiments on this amazing fruit which I am so happy to discover!

In the 3rd part of the Natal Plums series, I will show you one of the two recipes I did from them!

DSC_0038.JPG

Have you ever prepared any dish based on Natal Plums?

Please do let me know in the comments section below and would be great if you could share any info about them that could be useful to me and everyone!

Wish you all a lovely day ahead!
Thank you!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

I did not know the existence of this fruit, it looks like the plum here in Venezuela, with that fruit jams are prepared, also juices.

wow!! maaaaannnn it always seems like other countries have cooler foods then in the US

So unfortunately, I have nothing to share about natal plums. I have never even heard of them until this post. Ended up checking out your previous one about the same subject to educate myself. Thanks for sharing @progressivechef as I am always interested in learning more about other fruits, veggies, and other ingredients. Looking forward to seeing how you used them in your recipes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47