Market Day - My Favorite Day of the Whole Week!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Hello dears friends around the globe!!!

Very warm greetings from the paradise Island of Mauritius! Trust you are all having an amazing start of the weekend!
And again great THANK YOU!!! to you all for the great welcome on this newly found platform for me!

These days I just feel that great regret of not knowing Steemit 1 year before!

Well I'm one month old only and still learning this huge new system to me! Slowly but surely I'll understand it all, well I hope so!

Let's put that aside and jump into today's subject at once!

I will be sharing with you my day at the market yesterday! Oh yes I really love market day and it is actually my favorite day of the whole week! You must all love your local market , the people selling there needs all our support to survive and the vegetables/fruit they sell are really the best quality you can get!

loveurlocalmarketlogo.jpg

This is my latest journey to the market! There was an abundance of vegetables and the prices were very cheap!

Looking forward to your comments and I hope you will enjoy this post and you will discover some new vegetables for the first time!!!

IMG_3334.jpg

As every Friday, the market was quite full and busy! I just love the noisy atmosphere there! It is just a great pleasure for me seeing all these sellers doing their work! Lovely!

IMG_3338.jpg

These green chillies were so attractive that I bought half kg for use during the whole week! Yes we do eat quite a lot of spicy stuff in Mauritius!

IMG_3339.jpg

This is the coconut stall! I had a piece to taste and it was really very good! Making a good chutney together with mint will be so delicious!

IMG_3341.jpg

This is the charm of Mauritian market; you can find garlic and ginger next to hairbrushes! Garlic cut anyone!?Lol!

IMG_3343.jpg

Here it was salted fish which so many Mauritians love to cook! This is an ancient way of preserving fish and still going strong these days!

IMG_3344.jpg

I have never seen the price of cilantro so low! You could get a bag full for 1usd actually! My wife bought a lot which she will preserve fo later use in soups!

IMG_3349.jpg

After some weeks of very high prices of tomatoes, finally it was at a great price of 2usd a kg! The red color was so beautiful to watch!
Yes that's my wife in the far end making her choice!

IMG_3353.jpg

Looking at these sexy vegetables, I wanted to buy everything and bring home! I do get crazy sometimes!

IMG_3355.jpg

Do you guys know this vegetable? We call it 'Anguive' in Mauritius and it got the English name of 'Thai Eggplant'
It is quite bitter and I love it when dry fried! Mom says it is good for the blood!

IMG_3357.jpg

These mini sweet potatoes were for 50 cents a kg! My wife use it in tajines normally! We can use to make amazing desserts too!

IMG_3362.jpg

The fruits section was also very nice with a lot of varieties! But it's a shame that nearly all fruits are imported!

IMG_3366.jpg

Another fruit pic with many varieties of apples and citrus!

IMG_3368.jpg

How many of you have ever eaten this one? These are Jujubes and are actually in season here! Great to eat raw or pickled!

IMG_3369.jpg

The beauty of these beetroots just attracted me! They were so lovely!

IMG_3371.jpg

I found another tomato seller and the smell was just amazing! Aren't they nice!?

IMG_3374.jpg

My day at the market ended with another stall of salted fish! The smell is not so welcoming but there were a lot of varieties to choose!

I really hope you enjoyed discovering a little bit about my country's market and some produce!

Please do upvote and comment if you liked it! And don't forget to resteem to make it reach a max of audience!

Till the next one
Bye
@progressivechef

Sort:  

Awesome I can't wait to see more!

Thanks @martinhadameme! Glad that you enjoyed it!
Stay tuned for more!
Cheers
@progressivechef

that's awesome thanks for taking us to the market with you ! We have one here too , its only on Wednesday till 3 pm and on the weekend ! I love going when I get a chance , everything is so fresh and locally grown !🍅🍏🍆🍄

I go practically every week! I'm such a great lover of food markets! The freshness is what i like the most!

Always my favorite day too! Great pics. Such a lovely and organized market. Cambodian can learn something from it!

Thank you @amy-goodrich, well I shot the best places btw!Hahaha!Lol! Some areas are not so well organized though but still overall it is a very nice market! Quite clean!

I love the quite clean... Cambodian markets can be pretty horrible... at least the food is all organic and clean hehe

I think I can live in Mauritius. There are a lot of things similar to those in Indonesia. It's hard for me to move on from Asian Food :-D

Infact in Mauritian cuisine, we have a lot of Asian based food too! The country itself is multicultural! Anyone can adapt quickly here!


This post got a 24.80 % upvote thanks to @progressivechef - Hail Eris !

This post has received a 3.99 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @progressivechef.

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 0.72 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @zeartul.

Anything for you, my dear.

Love the Farmer's Market too.. and also my favorite day of the week because I make organic jams, baked goods, fresh juice and coffee..Met all my close friends there as customers and get to meet people from all around the world..All show appreciation for my hard work and efforts..

Oh the markets must be amazing in Hawaii i bet! You just have an amazing job @thethreehugs, would be great to make a post on this!
Cheers
@progressivechef

I plan to..maybe take some better photos this Wednesday

Sorry a bit blurry as sun was bright and hard to see to focus..

IMG_20170719_114926.jpg

Shame that I can't taste these delicacies that you make!

You can..take a Hawaii vacation..lol

Hmmm I wish so! Maybe one day!

"It could happen!"

Ah man! That´s one of the things I really miss from traveling around the world: awesome food markets!

Here in Norway we have lost the tradition of going to the food markets and there are almost non left. Everything is pre packed and put in the shelves in the super markets.

Looks like I need to go to Mauritius soon! :)

Oh that's sad to hear @cryptopet! But i still think if someone puts back the tradition, people will come back to it! More and more people want fresh veg and fruits nowadays!
Do let me know if you are planning to come over mate, will be happy to assist!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01