Judging an amateur food contest in a village of Mauritius for the celebration of the 50th Independence Day!

in #food6 years ago

DSC_0016.JPG

Exactly one month back, for the celebration of the 50th Independence day of Mauritius, I was invited to act as judge for a culinary contest where the participants were house wives of a village!

The village name is Notre Dame and this is where my bistro is found too!

This was the first time that I was going to taste food of amateur foodies and I can say it was really a great experience!


As it was on a Saturday and I have to open my bistro before noon...I had like one hour to spend maximum with these lovely local people!

It was actually a full day and night celebration going on there, when I reached the normal procedure of exchange/collaboration between the village of Notre Dame and a village from our sister island Reunion was happening!

DSC_0013.JPG


This is the photo souvenir of all the different members of the village council of Notre Dame and the guests from Reunion Island!

DSC_0020.JPG


On top of the culinary contest, there were also a lot of different activities that were organized for the villagers!
Bocce ball competition for the men!

DSC_0023.JPG


Cooking local traditional food for the women..
These are the different contestants! Hmmm really a lot of food for me to taste that day!

DSC_0026.JPG


Boxing for the youngs...you can see the boxing ring in the far end being set up!

DSC_0045.JPG


Free Henna application for the girls and women!

DSC_0044.JPG


And of course live music with local artists who were invited to perform till late at night!
Unfortunately I could not stay long as I had to run to my bistro!

DSC_0033.JPG


So coming back to the contest, all the different food that I tasted were so yummy and I could feel that these were cooked with utmost care and love by these moms!

DSC_0031.JPG


And you know what!? The winner that I selected was this lovely aged lady! I forgot her age, but she must have over 80 if I am not mistaken!
She made so many different typical Mauritian foods which were simply excellent!

Bravo respected Madam!
I had a nice chat with her and she said so many beautiful things to me and encouraged me a lot to keep going in the job I am doing!

DSC_0030.JPG


It was a very nice moment that I spent that day with all these people! My wife, daughter, sister, niece and nephew also accompanied me there!

As mentioned above, this was my first time judging amateur foodies, especially house wives food and I really like it!

I discussed a lot with some of the participants and told them about steemit iron chef and Steemit in general! I hope some of them join us soon!

Until then, wish you a great end of the day/evening!
Thank you!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

I'm sure it was a great experience

You are so right my friend...it was such an amazing experience indeed! Meeting such lovely people was simply great for me and I had a lot of fun being there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81