Christophinia Dumplings : One of the most famous Mauritian Street Food!!!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hello my friends of the Steemit world!

Wow! It's been long since I last shared a recipe with you guys...sorry for that my friends! Well I am sure you are all aware how busy I got since starting Steemit Iron Chef that I no more get enough time to share some of my recipes with you!

Finally today I have the pleasure to present and show you how to make another very famous Mauritian street food which is loved by nearly everyone here!

Christophinia Dumplings
DSC_0082.JPG


Christophinia dumplings originate from the Chinese community we have here in Mauritius, but nowadays nearly every communities prepare these and enjoy as well!
They are usually eaten steaming hot with a broth and chili sauce!

Before showing you how to make them, let me share with you a picture of christophinia for you to get an idea of what I am talking if you don't know about it!


It is also called by different names in different parts of the world :chayote, or chouchou or pear squash and a lot more...

How is it called in your country?


So to make these dumplings, I first grated the christopinia as you can see below!
DSC_0075.JPG


Next i marinated the grated christophinia with sugar and salt for it to release the max of water!
Wait for 15 minutes, then drain/extract the max of water you can!
The more dry the christophinia are the better the dumplings will be!

DSC_0076.JPG


For the seasoning, I simply needed :

  • Grated carrot
  • Garlic paste
  • Ginger paste
  • Finely cut chives
  • Black pepper
  • Corn starch

DSC_0077.JPG


After taking out the max of water from the christophinia, add the chives, carrot, ginger and garlic.
Season with some salt and black pepper.
Mix well!

DSC_0078.JPG


Lastly add the corn starch to the mixture!

DSC_0079.JPG


Make small balls from the christophinia mixture and put in your steamer!
Put to steam for about 15 minutes!

DSC_0080.JPG


And here they are after 15 minutes of steaming!
Ready to be enjoyed!

DSC_0082.JPG


Isn't it easy to make my friends!? With $1 you get 3 pcs of these on the street here in Mauritius...better do it at home!!!
It will be cheaper and surely more tasty!
Normally someone can eat up to 15 like these!!!

You can also add minced beef or chicken or any meat you want to the mixture before steaming, they are just so yummy!

Below is a picture of a bowl full of christophinia dumplings ready to be enjoyed with some hot chili sauce!


Image Source


So voila my dear foodies, a simple recipe to mark my return on the recipe side of things on Steemit! You will see more and more amazing recipes from me in the days to come!


Important note!

The SBD made on all my posts moving forward will be used for sponsoring the Steemit Iron Chef 2017!

Anyone wishing to grow the prizes and be a sponsor of this unique contest, please do let me know!
You are most welcomed!

You wish to join and participate in Steemit Iron Chef?
Check out @steemit-ironchef or follow this link to send your entry!

Thank you!
@progressivechef

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @progressivechef for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by progressivechef from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.24 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

It is a very simple and delicious recipe and I like the photos

Absolutely my friend, really very simple and so delicious! Since I started preparing these at home, I no more buy the ready made ones!

Wow that looks delightful and healthy! I've not heard of this Christophinia or Pear Squash before.. so I learnt something new! Would love to taste it though..that's the best way to absorb a lesson =P

Oh really my friend? Actually christophinia is a vegetable with quite a bland taste, but when marinated with some spices...it becomes so tasty!
You can replace them with white radish, works perfectly!
We call them boulette in the local language here in Mauritius and so famous as a street food!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87