Chocolate, Coconut and Vanilla ice cream : Nothing beats this on a hot summer day!

in #food6 years ago

These days on the paradise island of Mauritius, the temperatures are getting so high that the only thing that comes to your head during the hot days is : ICE CREAM!!!

As mentioned in the title of this post : Nothing beats ice creams on such hot summer day like today...we had highs of 33-34 degrees celcius in some parts of the island! Hence my big craving for ice cream today!

Looking in my freezer, I saw 3 different flavors of ice creams...Chocolate, Coconut and Vanilla!

Without losing any second, I took them all and prepared some quick garnish to go with my ice cream bowl!

DSC_0019.JPG


I had some fresh almond flakes which I quickly roasted in a pan...

DSC_0009.JPG


And here's all the different garnishes I used to build my ice cream bowl...

  • Almond flakes
  • Roughly crushed Oreo biscuits
  • Grated choco-mint cookies
  • Grated fresh coconut
  • Marshmallow cut in small round shape
  • And the surprising...fresh thyme leaves!

DSC_0010.JPG


I started by plating the 3 different flavors of ice cream on my bowl/plate! I wanted to plate ice cream little different from the usual that we all know...

DSC_0017.JPG


As it was so hot...the ice creams were melting very quickly...

Very rapidly I dress all the different garnishes on the ice cream balls!

DSC_0018.JPG


And once I finished...it was time to dig in this beauty and refresh myself...

DSC_0022.JPG


It is not often that you see someone putting thyme leaves on an ice cream bowl...nearly everyone uses the usual mint leaves!
But let me confirm to you that thyme worked perfectly here and that little amazing taste of thyme really brought this simple ice cream bowl to another level! Simple touch but great result!

In couple of minutes...this is how the state of the plate was!Lol!

DSC_0023.JPG


Needless to say...it was super yummy and I had a great time preparing, plating and eating it!

DSC_0021.JPG

What you like most on a very hot summer day?
What are your favorite ice cream flavors?

Looking forward to read your comments below!
Wish you all a great end of the day!
Thanks!

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @progressivechef for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Looks yummy and delicious. Keep up the good work wish you all the best !!!

Very attractive it temp to eat,thanks for sharing.

This would make an amazing entry in our desserts theme for this week @progressivechef - would be nice to have an entry from you

Best chef thanks

Never heard of thyme on ice cream lol not sure, always up for experimenting tho!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66