๐Ÿ’™ Restaurant Review: ๐Ÿ’™ Yours Truly, Loop St ๐Ÿ’™

in food โ€ขย  2 years agoย 

cover.jpg

I went for what was supposed to be a quick coffee with a friend, and it ended up being a full blown lunch, due to the fact that the cafe we chose, Yours Truly, turned out to be such a gem!

Yours Truly is a well known coffee shop here in Cape Town, with two other branches already established in Kloof and Long streets. They are known to be a bit of a hipster joint, but this didn't deter my friend and I from sitting down - we were in the mood for a great sandwich, and we had both heard how epic the sandwiches were at Yours Truly.


Located in bustling downtown Loop Street, this busy coffee shop is fast becoming a local favourite. The decor is super trendy and upbeat (if decor can be upbeat?!๐Ÿ˜‚). Lots of black and white, with loads of beautiful, green plants everywhere. I particularly enjoyed the plants everywhere, it really added to the chilled,laid back vibe of the restaurant.

IMG_4627.jpg

The interior is slightly industrial meets hipster chic, with white subway tiles, wrought iron shelving, and reclaimed wood tables and shelving units. There were a few art/photographic displays, with the photographs and artworks up for sale. Sooo hipster ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

IMG_4631.jpgIMG_4635.jpgIMG_4636.jpg

The building it is located in, is a typical Loop street Victorian. Tall and skinny with three floors above the cafe. This part of Cape Town is sublime in its architecture, with many high ceilinged, wooden floored buildings.

IMG_4641.jpg

IMG_4640.jpg

The service was very friendly. Our waiter was a very tiny man with an exceptionally large smile. The waitstaff have all been trained very well, and seemed comfortable and happy.

IMG_4625.jpg

I decided to Build Your Own sandwich, and chose a seeded roll with salami, mozzarella, tomato, lettuce, and of course, English mustard. My friend ordered the Smoked Chicken Caprese Salad, which looked divine, with lots of pesto and gorgeous mozzarella.

IMG_4632.jpg

The presentation was simple, yet refined, with a rustic touch. More reclaimed wood to tie in with the shelving and tables. The bread was very fresh, and they stole my heart by adding just the right amount of English mustard on my sandwich. The simplicity of the food was perfected by the ultra fresh ingredients. I also saw a few pizzas float past, and they looked heavenly; thin based, herb topped affairs. I've heard the pizzas are very tasty.

IMG_4633.jpg

I was pleasantly surprised by Yours Truly, and would definitely go again. They are open late into the night (2am), and the spot turns into quite a cool (hipster) hangout after hours.

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoyed my review of Yours Truly.

Details:

Address: 63 Loop St, Cape Town City Centre, Cape Town, 8000
Web: www.yourstrulycafe.co.za
Phone: 010 010 7136
Opening Hours: 6AMโ€“2AM

mewmewfooter.jpg

Authors get paid when people like you upvote their post.
If you enjoyed what you read here, create your account today and start earning FREE STEEM!
Sort Order: ย 
ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

love the โ€œrustic meets modernโ€ cafe feel! but you didnโ€™t order coffee??

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

hahhaha! I know! We had just been for a massage so I actually had peppermint tea. I have had takeaway coffee before from them, and it is pretty good! Thanks for stopping by ๐Ÿ’™

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

ah.. makes sense! glad to know that you at least had their coffee at some point!

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Mmmmmm, yummy healthy food!

I must say, I have never eaten at Your Truly on Loop, usually only go there either for a late night Cappucino/ Tequila haha

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

hehe, yeah, I had never . either, just dranks at the Kloof street vibe.

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

inspiring decoration greatt restoran

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

thank you ๐Ÿ’™

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Looks like a place I would love to visit, a bit to far away I'm afraid but really nice to take part off visually. Sounds like you had a great time.

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

hehe, yes, sweden is a tad far! thanks for your support!

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

That is a beautiful place, my kind of place ๐Ÿ˜‰
I would order a big cup of coffee... Lol
Did you drink coffe or just that delicious food?
I love how you did your own sandwich.
Thank you for sharing, just got me more hungry ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜hahaha Have a wonderful evening dear!

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

i actually had peppermint tea! Just had a massage and was too zen for coffee!

Thank you for your love!

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Ohh.. Massage that was amazing I'm sure ๐Ÿ˜Š
Then I understand coffe had to wait.. Lol
But I must admit I have never tried pepparmint tea, sounds really strong.
Stay awesome and safe! ๐Ÿค—

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

oh it's amazing! Very soothing and fresh tasting. Not strong like black tea. Similar to green tea, just a bit minty. i love it!

try it!

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

That sounds good, not to strong then so it's sounds like something I could try
๐Ÿต๐Ÿ˜‹ lol
Sweet dreams! Really late here now.

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

The architecture of the building is really cool. You are correct about the decor, it's uber hipster. While your lunches looked good, I'll always error on the side of pizza. All in all, looks like a good time.

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

this is cape town we are talking about... what is actually NOT hipster!?

I have eaten so much pizza lately, I just couldn't!

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Looks a very nice place and the food looks very tasty and well presented

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Thanks so much, it was divine! Canโ€™t tell you how good that simple sandwich was

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

THIS is how to do a Steemit post. Delighted to see you're getting the appreciation you deserve.

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Ah thank you! That means so much to me. I really try!

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Very cool place! And I am even more hungry now.
Peace and Love and Liberty

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Hahaha food photography when one is hungry is not always the best idea.

Thank you for stopping by

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Thanks for the review. Wounder if I ever end up here... one know not today what tomorrow brings :)

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

You never know what can happen! Where are you from @richeros?

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

That's true, life has taken me to many countries and places but I've never been to SA yet. I'm from Norway, just a little north from you :)

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Looks amazing !

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

thank you - it was a lovely lunch

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly โ€“ Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Cape Town huh??? Wow! :D
It seems amazing - and very Copenhagen style actually haha!!!!
Loop Street - I'm Loop. Cannot not upvote ;)))

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Yup! I am capetonian ๐Ÿ’“ this part of town is very trendy and I suppose Denmark sets the tone for many a coffee shop, due to the fact that the Danish are known for their great design ethics.

Hahah, what a coincidence, Loop! How cool is that name? Is it your real name? Or a nick name?

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

I have a friend from South Africa here but she's from Durbin ;)
Yes, I guess it's the design!
No, it was my nickname in high school - my real name is Penelope :)

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

MewMew gonna be a dolphin soon......nice post! follow me back :P
he he

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย (edited)

Hehehe, I try, battle butt!

Upvote for upvote? ๐Ÿ™„

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Must have been a great treat indeed. Pictures of the restaurant look amazing. Nice spot explored. Regards Nainaz.
#thealliance

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Thank you so much x

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย (edited)

Really like this review. All seems as a heaven fo hispters. It reminds me a restaurant where i worked in Caracas. :)

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=princessmewmew
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=restaurant-review-yours-truly-loop-st


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

yay! how awesome!

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Love this piece bro.. You rock

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

thank you!

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

great work!

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

So many great bloggers from Africa on steemit. Your Truly looks like a fun place to have a nice lunch. Nice design and the food looks great. Thanks.

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Thank you so much!

Africa is an industrious place ๐Ÿ’“

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

Hope to see it in. Person some day. Thanks for your post.

ย  ยท ย 2 years agoย 

where are you from?