๐Ÿด๐Ÿ’œ Restaurant Review - Melissa's Food Shop ๐Ÿ’œ๐Ÿด

in #food โ€ข 6 years ago

melissaas cover.jpg

Cape Town is a foodie's heaven, with so many restaurants and cafes to choose from. One of the restaurants that has set the pace for coffee shops and delis is Melissa's Food Shop.

Melissa's started twenty years ago in Kloof street, Cape Town. At the time it was completely unique, and something totally different from what everyone else was doing. Don't forget that here in SA, Chinese food was pretty much as exotic as it got back then. People were just climbing on the sushi train.

IMG_5021.jpgIMG_5020.jpgIMG_5022.jpg

Melissa's are known for their freshly prepared, home style food. They have a central table where you can help yourself to whatever they have made fresh that day. The table is changed for each meal; breakfast, lunch and early dinner. I absolutely love going there for lunch, and loading my plate with the different salads they serve; one of my favourites is the Haloumi and Cabbage Salad.

IMG_5024.jpg
salads.jpg

I've spent many a rainy afternoon drinking coffee, eating their delicious cakes and reading a book. The cafe in Kloof street is small, slightly pretentious and vibey. I like the music, and the staff are sweethearts. Sometimes the neighbouring conversations get to banal for me, and I head outside to the deck to take in the fresh air and watch the mountain.

IMG_5025.jpgIMG_5033.jpg

Melissa's sell homemade cordials, salad dressings, tarts, breads and some of the cutest crockery I have ever seen. I do find the prices of the homeware pretty expensive, but this is Cape Town, and one of the most affluent neighbourhoods too. I would buy the homeware as a special gift for a friend on a birthday, (or myself โ˜บ โ˜บ )

IMG_5031.jpg

@morkrock and I had a lovely breakfast on the deck today. It was drizzling slightly, rendering the mountain invisible with clouds. My favourite weather. We both had the Traditional Breakfast, which was just the right amount of food. Two eggs, bacon, tomatoes and bread. THE BREAD!! The bread is quite magnificent at Melissa's. Alway fresh and toasted to perfection. Their rye has a slight cumin-ey taste to it. I really look forward to that slice of toast when I eat there.

IMG_5019 copy.jpg

I found this video online, celebrating Melissa's 20th anniversary. It gives a nice overview of the brand.


source

Hope you enjoyed this review of Melissa's Food Shop. I've listed the details below, if you are ever in the area.


Melissa's Kloof Street,
94 Kloof St, Gardens, Cape Town, 8001
021 424 5540

mewmewfooter.jpg

please consider voting for @adsactly-witness

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort: ย 

Colors look awesome. Still didn't have a chance to try some proper African food.

Great review if I was there I would try it out seems it has nice ambiance and great food

The ambiance is great, I love the music, all jazz and frank Sinatra style stuff!

Who doesn't LOVE Frankie!!! LOL, not just for the old folk anymore, he is making a comeback

Wow! That is amazing work! I really enjoyed your insights on Melissa's food shop. Looks like another place in my GO-TO list :)

Thank you! Itโ€™s on the steemit world map, so you will always be able to find it x

Wow, seems like my kind of place.. Lol
Beautiful place and geez all that delicious food.
Cape Town is not just a beautiful place but has lots of Awsome places.

Yeah girl. Itโ€™s beautiful here x there are sooo many lovely restaurants

I would Love to visit cape Town it's on my wish list on top ๐Ÿ˜Š have heard so much great things and your pictures and blogs even makes it better... Lol
And I Loooove coffe so to have great places to go is just Awsome ๐Ÿค—
Thank you for sharing sweetie! ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’•

ahhh, looks like a California vibe.....
ice and snow coming here, will vicariously enjoy others tropical lives, lol ;)

i've been told Cape Town is very similar to Cali :)

Looks really like a great place to eat. The cakes look very tempting. ๐Ÿ‘

Oh they ARE! The brownies are to die for ๐Ÿ’œ

Great review. Thank you!

I don't often look at restaurant reviews, they tend to be exotic and flashy and out of my desire. Not this, looks like a 'Mom and Pop' sort of place! The Mediterranean Salad made my juices flow. I think I'll have an imitation of your photo tonight.

Thanks again for the wonderful look into another corner of the earth.

Your favorite food looks so yummy and good for someone watching their weight. Awesome pictures.

Thanks buddy!

Steem on โœŒ๏ธ

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=princessmewmew
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=restaurant-review-melissa-s-food-shop


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Heeyyy!! Another Saffa!
I used to live and work in Cape town. Sadly, before mellisa's was a thing.

Yup, there are a few of us! That must have been a while ago then!

Yeah, I fear that I'm busy getting old. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62596.14
ETH 3021.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65