🌿 My Favourite Healthy Brown Rice Dish 🌿

in #food7 years ago

IMG_1234.JPG

I've really been trying to eat healthily lately, eating vegan, no processed anything, only eating healthier grains like quinoa, bulgur wheat and loads and loads of yummy legumes and veggies, and I must say - It has been easy, filling and delicious!

This healthy brown rice dish is one of my most favourite and easiest meals in my little recipe book, and I love to make a huge batch on a Monday night and pack it for @morkrock and I for work lunches.


INGREDIENTS

  • 2l vegetable stock (preferably homemade)
  • 2 cup brown rice
  • 2 cups mixed legumes - I used split peas, brown lentils and pearled barley
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 onion, chopped into half circles
  • two cloves garlic, chopped superfine
  • a handful of fresh green beans
  • a handful of sprouted bean sprouts
  • chopped basil and mint
  • chilli flakes, salt and pepper to taste

IMG_1232.JPG

METHOD

Soak your legumes in a cup of water. I find this helps get all the scum off of them when you boil them. While this is happening, lightly saute your onion, garlic and black beans in a little coconut oil, until the onions are translucent and the beans are cooked.

Boil your rice until cooked, in your vegetable stock, seasoning with a little salt. Boil your legumes too, and mix the rice and legumes in a large bowl, set aside

Bring a large pot of water to boil, and once boiling, turn the hob off, drop your green beans in the water for about three minutes. Drain.

Mix all ingredients together, stirring in your herbs and chilli flakes. Season to taste and serve.

For a little treat, or if you are not eating clean, you can stir in a knob of butter and some feta cheese.

IMG_1238.JPG

I'd love to hear your thoughts on my delish rice, and please do share your healthy recipes with me! You can find me on discord too!

mewmewfooter.jpg

Sort:  

It looks​ ass something​​ i like too try, thanks for sharing.

I to am trying to eat healthy, have made a note of this recipe to try

thanks for sharing

its my pleasure 💕💕 I have quite a few healthy ones coming up!

This is just wonderful my friend! I am such a great lover of any rice dish! Love it!

Oh, me too! I love all rice - basmati, jasmine, sushi!

I always thought my favourite was jasmine, but lately I am such a basmati lover xx

This looks really good, but I would mostly see it as a side. Just rice and legumes don't sit right with me.

My husband is the same lol! Think of it as a healthy risotto 😎😎

You could always add some crispy, fried mince on top if that makes it feel more like a meal to you 😊

Looks delicious and healthy

If you only knew how much I love rice ..., this recipe will come in handy thanks :)

That's great! Thank you for your comment!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 22.0% @trafalgar upgoat, thanks to @princessmewmew
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @princessmewmew to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

very nice , I really llike your blog

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princessmewmew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I want to try this meal, it looks yummy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60385.11
ETH 2889.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65