😻 Crunchy Sesame Chicken Noodles😻steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Carmen Cover.jpg

I love Asian and Thai food. One of the first restaurants I worked in was a wanna be sushi/thai story. I say wannabe, the owner didn't know what he was doing, but the chef that worked there was so fecking good. He and a became good friends, and he taught me a lot. One thing I ate a lot, and came to really like, is rice noodles.

Shit. Actually, I should write more about my restaurant days. I've never done so many bizarre things before, as the kak we got up to in those days. I'll leave that for another day and another post though.

This is my one of my favourite weekend night dinners. It's so full of flavour and texture. I am obsessed with the CRUNCH of the carrots and green beans, and the chicken is so wonderfully soft and has just the right amount of heat, from the chilli.

INGREDIENTS

200ml soy sauce (almost one cup)
2T honey
1t chilli flakes
2 cloves garlic, sliced
small piece of ginger, about the size of your thumb, chopped super finely
500g chicken breasts, chopped into thin slices
2 leeks, chopped
handful green beans, chopped in half,
4 or 5 large carrots, sliced into chunks
1 large green pepper, finely sliced
250g rice noodles
1T sesame seeds, dry roasted.

10.jpg

METHOD

Soak rice noodles in boiling water and set aside.

Combine soy sauce, chilli flakes, garlic, ginger and spring onion in a medium bowl, and mix thoroughly. Add your chicken pieces, cover, and leave to marinade over night, or for at least half an hour.

6.jpg
7.jpg

In the mean time, you can prep your other veg. PREP IS KING in this recipe, as it's one of those recipes that depends on having every thing ready before you turn the wok on.

8.jpg

Once you have marinaded your chicken pieces for long enough, warm your wok to a medium heat. Add your leeks, and fry gently until soft. Don't forget to salt your leeks to aid the breakdown.

Now, you've got to push the leeks to the side of the wok, and turn the heat up. Fry the chicken in batches, about two minutes a side, until cooked, and starting to crisp. You really want to make sure that you give the chicken room to breathe, or it will never get the lovely char you are after.

9.jpg

Remove your chicken, and add the vegetables. Wok fry until just cooked. You may want to add a little soy, and close the wok with a lid to let the veg steam a little.

After the veg is just about ready, add the chicken and noodles to your wok, and toss that wok. TOSS IT REAL GOOD, GURL

Garnish with bean sprouts, sesame seeds and coriander if that floats your boat

3.jpg

If you enjoyed this recipe, check out my others that I've posted recently:

💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💗 💜 💜 💗 💜

follow @princessmewmew

I am a proud supporter of minnowsupportproject, if you haven't already joined check them out over on their Discord Channel by clicking here!

U5drWMHTzho28CV1Lm6Awwys14VUvHq.gif

Sort:  

Yuuuum, I think this will be next on my list of things to try!
the sight of that chicken in marinade is making me feel a certain type of way!!
I really love thai food.... I never had it when I was living in the UK (i don't know why but British people just aren't into it so much, we seem to eat more indian, chinese, japanese, italian) but here in Australia they LOVE thai food, and now it is one of my faves too :)

And it is also pretty healthy! 💓

Hmmm seems that we had the same taste today @princessmewmew! I'm gonna post my vegetable noodles recipe later on!
Your's is so mouthwatering! Asian food is just so good! Full of flavor!
Cheers
@progressivechef

Cool! I will check out your post 💓 Asian and Thai is my fave 😋

Thank you @princessmewmew! Finally i posted it! Hope you like it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princessmewmew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

yummm..I love Asian sauces and vegetables in stir-fried noodles...when used properly, they all go hand-in-hand to really oompf up the flavour factor of noodles :))

yes you should really post more stories about your restaurant days :))

Hahaha perhaps I will. They were a little crazy

hehe well that just makes me look forward even more to reading about those days then :))

This post has received a 2.40 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @princessmewmew.

Damn I missed this post, it looks so delicious! I wish I found it sooner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52