Andy's Sushi, Seapoint, Cape TownsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Andys Sushi.jpg

Yes, people, we have sushi in Africa! Actually, Cape Town is one of the most active harbours in South Africa, and there is always lovely, fresh fish to be found.

I had heard a bit about Andy's Sushi in Seapoint, his main claim to fame being that he was head chef at Willoughby's, a super pretentious, overpriced Waterfront (the most ladidaa mall here , popular with tourists - also my favourite mall!) restaurant

Upon arrival, the shop front is quite dingy looking, with formica tables and a typical Chinese food takeaway shop vibe. Actually, had I seen the place from the street, I would have thought, 'Eh, another oily Chinese takeout shop, give that one a miss."

The service was fine, nothing to write home about, but definitely not bad.

Now! The most important part of this review - THE FOOD

We ordered the Salmon and Tuna Mixed Platter - 18pcs - R149 ($12), and the Hot Rock Tuna Roll - R65 ($5) - 8pcs. Not too expensive, I think.

To be honest, we were quite apprehensive, as my hubs @morkrock, had just touched the bottom of his chair, and found some weird and icky gooey stuff.

mixed platter.jpg

We were pleasantly surprised though, when the first plate arrived. The fish was very fresh, the rice had a great consistency, although it had nothing on Papa San's of Obi restaurant though - I must write a post about this restaurant and it's enigmatic chef. My only grumble would be that the sashimi pieces were a bit small, and the slivers of fish on the nigiri were quite thin.

hot rock tuna.jpg

I quite liked the Hot Rock Tuna Roll. It had some sort of chopped up, spicy tuna mix in the centre of the roll, and slivers of fresh tuna and avocado on the top. It was dressed in a sesame seed oil and seven spice mix

All in all, the experience was good, but I don't think I would go again for a sit down experience. Definitely for takeaway though. I guess the whole atmosphere of the shop was not the best, and I would prefer to sit in a prettier, cleaner shop.

I also think I have been spoilt by eating Papa San's food. I mean, I have eaten sushi all over, London, Germany, Dubai and in places such as Nobu, and still think Pap San is the best. So I think that, unfortunately, no other sushi will ever compare!

hot rock.jpg

MewMew Rating:
Ambiance: 1 out of 5
Service: 3 out of 5
Food: 3.5 out of 5
Value: 3.5 out of 5

mixed platter34.jpg

Sort:  

omg... i miss eating good sushi/sashimi. been awhile since i had that.

Ah hey guy! Thanks for checking out my post. Where do you stay that you don't get sushi?

i'm currently in france, but not in the city. so no sushi here :(

Oh really? I had some pretty strange concoctions in Germany - fried chicken California roll.... ick.

You are probably rolling in Camemberts and Bries though.

there's only cheese and bread here... i can't wait to go home. we have everything in singapore!

Shame, sounds nice, but I am sure you miss having everything you like!

Yummm girl! I heard capetown is beautiful, one day when I tick it off my bucketlist maybe I will check out this sushi place!! :)

Hellos Ms @hannahlicious! Thanks for your comment! If you ever come here, we will have to meet up!

You're Spanish, right? How did you end up in Oz?

Yes for sure!
I am english actually :) I lived in Mexico for a little bit and Spain for a year as well... so sometimes I post on here in spanish to try and practice a bit more but I have been a bit lazy lately in posting spanish!
I came to Oz on a working holiday visa and then I met my husband here so now I will be here forever!!
Have you ever been out to australia?

Ah, what a cool story! Perhaps I will post how @morkrock and I met, it's also a cross continental story. LAME!

I have family in Brisbane, but that's about it.

I'd love to go to Mexico. More churros. :)

Awww yes I would love to read a cross continental love story, you should definitely post it!!!

Hehe... I will work on it.

That's nice

The sushi look so captivating and tempting to devour! Can I have one please? 😁

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by princessmewmew from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This post has received a 0.89 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @princessmewmew.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66911.69
ETH 3521.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19