@polebird: ✨ Local foods- fresh and delicious✨

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I had the pleasure of having lunch last week at a craft sandwich shop called Local Foods in Houston. Their menu boasts fresh locally sourced ingredients coming from nearby farms and vendors. I love to check out restaurants that use the concept of "local food" because the difference of freshness of the preparations as compared to the globally sourced food can usually be detected. Another huge plus is supporting smaller local businesses!

7583841920_IMG_1614.jpg

The environment of the shop itself is really nice inside, with trendy modern decor. I loved all the patterns they used to liven the atmosphere.

7718151248_IMG_1609.jpg

7718151248_IMG_1618.jpg

I ordered the truffled egg salad sandwich. It was not my usual pick for sandwiches since I had not eaten a truffled egg salad before, and I'm usually not too adventurous in food choices, but it was highly recommended by an employee. It was paired with a side of mixed greens with a tangy sauce. I also ordered the chicken posole soup - it had poblano, green chiles, cilantro, and pumpkin seed garnish. This was soooo tasty, and all the bold flavors of the soup blended so well.

7718151248_IMG_1612.jpg

The truffled egg salad sandwich, made on pretzel bun was just as good as I was told! Glad I tried it out.

7718151248_IMG_1616.jpg

My mom ordered a seasonal harvest salad with shrimp. There were very generous portions of sprouts, greens, nuts, and seeds.
7718151248_IMG_1610.jpg

The neat thing about eating at places with locally sourced foods is that their menu often change, depending on the growing season. I guess you could see this as sad point as well, when you grow attached to a dish on the menu, and you can no longer order it.

Thanks for reading friends! Hope you have a fabulous day and steem on.

IMG_1507.JPG

Love,
Jess

Sort:  

Wow foods are in a systematic beautiful order.
Thanx @polebird

thank you! glad you like it

mmm 😋...feeling hungry

heheh right?? me too! Looking back at the photos

I totally agree with your opinion. The restaurant that serves food from local ingredients is guaranteed freshness and healthy. And the advantages can also support local businesses that are small. Enjoy a very delicious meal. May you always be happy @polebird.

Yes, exactly!! aw thank you for the kind wish! :)

Looks delicious... Truffled eggs hmm... Never heard abt it... Was good ye... I bet... Nice look cal food shop... Where you getting fresh and organic food... Super delicious and healthy... Looks nice also... Food choices 👍

delicious, yummy worth tasting

definitely so!

can I taste the food looks very good plasticity @polebird

Hello,
All the dishes look amazing but, personally, I will choose salad with shrimp. Have a great weekend!

hehe that would be a great choice as well, my mom really enjoyed her meal :)

yummy, thanks for sharing

The way you describe the food and the supporting pictures are digging serious holes in my stomach despite that I finished eating a while ago.
I am sorry to say this, NO THANKS to you for this. 👅👅👅

Nothing better than fresh and local food😍😍😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61888.55
ETH 3400.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50