Grocery Bag Series - Keto Approved Items

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Some of my friends are slowly noticing the result of weight loss journey that me and my husband is currently into. Some are asking for list of foods and recipes of what we eat. Of course, we wanted to help our friends and the online community into what becomes very beneficial for us but we still don't have the luxury of time for it.

IMG_8143.JPG

Since we had a short trip to Brazil during the recent UAE holiday, we came home almost short of our usual pantry supplies so I decided to pay a visit to Lulu Hypermarket in Abu Dhabi. I only thought about getting some butter as my Kerrygold Butter stash had come to its last piece. While shopping, I thought, "Hmmm... maybe I can show and document the items I buy especially those related to Keto Diet". Following this Way of Eating (WOE), you need to check each item whether it is keto approved. Although the basic list of allowed foods are available online, you have to be careful as most of the times, the ingredient will still show sugar or a sugar coated in a different name. I'll do a separate blog about this in the near future.

Okay, now, let's peep on what I got. I usually just check on Ingredient (should be without sugar) and Nutritional Fact (lowest carbohydrate content)

Butter
Lulu I had ran out of Kerrygold Butter so I looked for an alternative. Kerrygold is grassfed butter and is very popular in Keto Community. Those were on sale a few months back.

IMG_8164.JPG

What I got now is Almarai Brand with 0% Carbs.

Cream Cheese
I'd have to make a confession that I picked the light one because it is cheaper than the Original Philadelphia Cream Cheese by almost 10AED for each 200g block. I bought two pieces of the light for 15AED each so if I'll buy the original one, it will cost me 50AED that I really don't like to spend as of now 🙄 Carbs at <1g is low anyway. IMG_8165.JPG

Sour Cream
Carbs at 4.4g for every 100g. I am planning to use this for my next experiment on Cheesecake Recipe, this is quite low for the purpose and this is the only brand I found today.
IMG_8170.JPG

Stevia (Sweetener)
ZeroCal - This is the first time I bought this brand which is combination of Erythritol and Stevia.
IMG_8166.JPG

Almond Milk
Almond Breeze is the brand that my friend in Toronto uses. Be careful on this as there are several varieties available. Pick the Unsweetened Original as this is the only one without sugar.

IMG_8171.JPG

Whipping Cream
I occasionally use this for our Bulletproof Coffee if I feel I wanted to have a very rich one. This is also my first time to try Almarai which is a local brand. I always buy Elle&Vire previously.
IMG_8169.JPG

Ground Flax Seed
Not my usual stuff but decided to get one just in case I got the desire to bake something. I read in some blogs that this gives a better texture to low carb cakes so I am planning to give it a try! This has 0g net carbs!
IMG_8172.JPG

Soda Water
We had a lot of this in Brasil, we always drink Agua Com Gas. So I still have this urge to get a burp everytime I hydrate. It is that feeling I miss from having a glass of Coke!
IMG_8168.JPG

I hope this blog series will help each of us to document the keto approved items especially if you are based in the UAE where Keto is not yet that known. See you on the next Ep!

Sort:  

the ketong challege

Ketong talaga...? Ok para sa yo we'd call it LCHF diet

Wow! This is really helpful. I wish for your continued success with healthier lifestyle, and advocating the same in steemit.

I also have to agree that Stevia or any artificial sweetener are simply not necessary in any diet. "In 1991, the FDA refused to approve stevia as a sweetener as an additive in foods. However, in 2008, after the purification process was developed and patented by Coca-Cola, the FDA approved the stevia extracts"
https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/287251.php

There are several forms of Stevia... we use the liquid version... i guess it is better than sugar :)

I always stay away from sweeteners like Stevia. Artificial sweeteners are not good for the body. There are lots of articles out there that talk about how bad these things are. just stick to organic, natural food. you'll see better results.

hi Myriam, stevia is a natural sweetener. It is God's gift to mankind... the leaf itself is sweet. We prefer the liquid version, better than any form of sugar.

Congratulations @plumandrain! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

very informative article.. nice one... upvoting it

Good to know about all of those items on your list. :)

:) salamat po

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45