Recipe - Roasted chickpeas

in #food7 years ago

A quick and easy recipe for a nice and savory snack!

IMG_20170815_173438.jpg

I wanted to make eggless meringue. I'm not sure if you know this yet, but apparently, the juices from a can of chickpeas work exactly like egg whites do. So making these meringues meant I had a can of chickpeas leftover. Obviously I didn't want to throw them out, so instead, I browsed the web for chickpea recipes. That's when I came across this one. It calls for some ingredients I don't have, so I made my own version. They turned out pretty good and they make for a really tasty snack!

Ingredients

1 Can chickpeas
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp sugar
1 Tsp garlic powder
1 Tsp paprika powder
Pinch of salt

IMG_20170815_141344.jpg

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 140-150C
  2. Drain the chickpeas, rinse them and pat them dry.
  3. Mix all of the ingredients together with the chickpeas and spread them out on a baking sheet lined with parchement paper.
  4. Put the baking sheet in the oven for an hour.

Enjoy!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |


Want to satisfy your creative needs? Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!

Become my patreon and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!



Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

I tried to make humus from these:) Took a lot time, but with quite a poor result - was too desiccated.

Aww that's a shame to hear! I have to admit, I've never made humus in my entire life! I think I only ate it once and I didn't like the taste of it, so it never really occurred to me to try and make my own.

I tried to make it for my hubby, cause wished him to also try my vegetarian diet. But failed:(
I'm also not a fan of humus, but beans replace neat to me, so i tried to make my menu wider this way:)

Aww no :(
My boyfriend and me both don't want to go on a vegetarian diet, but we do agree to eat vegetarian from time to time, so we atleast eat less meat.

I'm also not 100% vegetarian - I eat fish:)

Aah yes! Well that is a nice meat replacer aswell. We try to eat fish atleast once a week. Twice if there's anything on sale :-)

In my city it's also sooo damn expensive, I mean fish kinds that I really love.
As a kid I lived on a far north, and there it was really hard to get vegetables, but fish was cheap as air. Now I think I was stupid not loving it in that time:)

Aww yeah, it's really a shame! I'd love to eat more fish, but here in the Netherlands, it's not really cheap either. Oh well, just gotta invest some extra cash into a healthy dinner :-)

That looks good! I have a giant sack of chickpeas from a nearby farm that we cook up and throw in just about anything, but we haven't yet tried to season and roast them alone.

Ooh that sounds great and very handy! You should definitely try this sometime aswell then! :D

Thank you! They really were quite yummy, and so easy to make too :-)

yeah for snack that so easy @playfulfoodie and awesome snack

What a healthy snack that will savour your cravings for something salty! Really great @playfullfoodie! I always wanted to try roasted chickpeas. Thanks to you I got a reminder to do it eventually. Thanks for sharing! :)

Thanks @alinalisa! I'm happy to hear I reminded you to try this yourself one day :-)

Hmmmm roasted chickpeas are the best! I know what I'm making for lunch today hehe!

Haha, yummy! :D

I love chickpeas so I'll have to try that one!

Oh you definitely should! It's so easy to make. Most is just oven time :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94