Recipe - Milk powder barfi

in #food7 years ago

Have you made food with milk powder yet?

While experimenting with home-made chocolate, I bought milk powder to try and make it less dark. I like dark chocolate, but my boyfriend doesn't. The milk powder mixed in did not work out so well and eventually, my period of home-made chocolate came to an end. I moved onto other things.

This left me with a big can of milk powder. What on earth was I supposed to do with it? A while ago, I decided to ask Google this question. This is what it came up with (amongst other things).

Well that was certainly interesting and worth a shot! I switched around some ingredients, recalculated the measurements to grams, and went to work!

I have to say, once you're done making these, small squares are quite enough, because it is very filling. It's also quite tasty though! I'm thinking of making them again, but trying different flavors next time. I read about a chocolate version, which sounds very promising. I'm sure I can come up with other flavors aswell. Throw in some orange extract for example... Yes, this'll be a recipe to have fun with!

IMG_20170725_195404.jpg

Ingredients

  • 125g Milk powder
  • 60g Powdered sugar
  • 75g Coconut milk
  • 60g Coconut oil
  • 2 Tbsp water

Directions

  1. Layer an oven dish with parchment paper.
  2. Heat up your coconut milk on low fire until it melts completely.
  3. Add the coconut milk and milk powder and stir well. Optionally, you'll want to add about 2 tbsp of water if the mixture is too thick to stir.
  4. Mix in the powdered sugar and continue stiring well.
  5. Cook and stir until the mixture comes lose from the sides and starts clumping together.
  6. Take the mixture off the fire and add it to the oven dish. Flatten this well.
  7. Let it cool off completely.
  8. Take the mixture and parchment paper out of the oven dish and cut it into small squares.

Enjoy!

Notes
You can keep this in the fridge for a while, but if you want to keep it longer, just put your squares into the freezer.


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |


Want to satisfy your creative needs? Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!



Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

I know! I haven't eaten most of this and it's just lying in the freezer... Need to move it over to our cabin, where we have more guests :-)

I like making things, I just don't want to eat much of it if it contains any sugar :-(

I just used milk powder for my last post when making mud balls :) I still have a bunch left and now have an idea as to what to use it for - thank you so much for sharing!!!!! SUNSHINE247

Ooh they look really tasty! Gotta keep that one in mind :D
Glad I could give you another idea to use your milk powder!

:) Powder milk is a tough one .. Have a GREAT day!! SUNSHINE247

Oh how I love eating barfis my friend, these are so famous in Mauritius! But I've always tried to make them but did not come as good as yours. I will try your recipe and see the results!
Have a great day ahead!
@progressivechef

Ooh really? I had never heard of them before googling for milk powder recipes! I really liked how it turned out though and definitely want to make them again. With different flavors next time :D

I hope the recipe works out as well for you as it did for me!

Have a good day!

Looking delicious,,,,,

hey nice post come check me out I upvoted you

Wow !
Looks yummy !!
New idea my friend @playfulfoodie !
Thanks for the recipe !

Glad you like it!

I always like your post my friend !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35