Recipe - Honey lemon cake

in #food6 years ago

Cake!

IMG_20180820_141634.jpg

Who doesn't love a good cake? Okay, apparently hubby isn't too keen on them, but let's just skip right over that and get to the good stuff.

I've been meaning to bake a nice cake ever since we moved into our new home. At first, it was to figure out our oven. I prepared a 'just add water' cake, turned a few buttons on the oven (which do something random I can't figure out due to vigorous cleaning of the previous owner), and waited in excitement. The result was a cake with a black top and a house filled with smoke.

Since that day, I have yet to gather the courage to try again.

So no cake that time (though I did eat parts of the middle...). We also brought my own microwave oven for its microwave functions. I've been using its oven functions aswell, just to avoid my new, mysterious oven.

I still wanted cake.

So when we had some eggs, I figured now's the time! Not to figure out my oven, I'll just ask customer support to figure out what brand this is and hopefully send me a picture... No, now was the time to make a cake in my trusty microwave oven.

I looked up my honey cake recipe and started adjusting. See, I've also got some lemon curd sitting in the fridge and I wanted lemon cake! So I adjusted my recipe to include lemon curd. The result was not as lemony as I was going for, so I might add lemon zest next time, but it does have a faint lemon taste according to my test subjects. I mean guests.

This cake is nicely moist and sweet. Let's look at the recipe!

Ingredients

  • 140ml Fluid butter
  • 120ml Honey
  • 160g Self-raising flour
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 Tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 Tbsp Lemon curd

Directions

  1. Don't preheat the oven. Grease up a cake form.
  2. Mix all ingredients but the flour until well combined.
  3. Add in the flour and mix again until well combined and smooth.
  4. Pour the mixture into the greased cake form and spread it out evenly.
  5. Place in the oven for 50-55 minutes on 160C.
  6. Take out of the oven and let it cool off for a little while before popping it out of the form by turning it over.

Enjoy!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Designs shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Patreon |

| Check out Mannabase to receive free basic income (ref link) |
Sort:  

What's lemon curd? And can I substitute it with lemon juice and rind?

My mouth is already watering. I think I might just have to try this.

Lemon curd is ehm... I'm not sure! I'll just describe it as a lemon jam. Google can tell you more. Substituting with lemon zest and juice should be fine I think. I want to try atleast the lemon zest myself next time.

Well, I tried with lemon juice, freshly squeezed lemons from which I got the rind. But I forgot to put the Baking Powder, so it didn't rise and the inside is a bit more like a pudding cake than a fluffy cake, but it's good, and it tastes lemony. Just means I'll have to make more.

As long as it tastes good! The cake won't rise as much as a regular one either way, but maybe a little more than yours did if you add baking powder :D

heheh yeah :p

Good to see a recipe from you @playfulfoodie. It's been a while. 😂

That one looks lovely and moist.

hope you get your oven sorted out soon. 😊

Thanks @gillianpearce! It has been a while indeed. All of my inspiration has gone to designing lately, instead of cooking!

I e-mailed their customer support with pictures, but they said they couldn't identify the oven... Bah!

I e-mailed their customer support with pictures, but they said they couldn't identify the oven

that's pretty poor!

I'm not big on sweet cakes, but I really like the idea of the lemon twist 🙂

You post motivates me to have a baking session tmrw after operating a long haul flight :D

Ooh I see you did end up baking something! :D

Yesss! Recently I quite enjoy baking at home when I don’t have to fly much! Bread always is my fav ❤️

Looks simple yet tasty! :)

Such a nice cake... and provided cooking method it's too good.

easy and yummy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82