Recipe - Homemade banana ice cream

in #food6 years ago

Have some bananas that are about to go bad? Slice them up and freeze them to make this delicious dessert!

IMG_20180330_200730.jpg

I like my bananas greenless. I'm not all too fond of a completely brown peel either, but it definitely needs to be more towards that side. It makes them taste so much sweeter! Aside from that, they (the internet, magazines) say those are healthier aswell, as in, they have more healthier substances.

I buy a batch when they are still a little green though, to make sure they last us long enough. Yet, even though we still eat them very ripe, we still don't always manage to finish all of the bananas on time. I can make banana bread from bananas that are about to go bad (much sweeter to use those, instead of green ones!), but that takes quite some effort. I wanted an easier way to get rid of them without throwing them in the trash.

So, I checked online and found many variations to banana ice cream. I did the first step: slicing up the bananas and freezing the slizes. I saved some of the tabs with recipes and then proceeded to not do anything with them for a couple of days.

IMG_20180330_200720.jpg

Then, yesterday evening, my boyfriend told me he wanted to eat something, but he wasn't sure what. I suggested banana ice cream and grabbed the slizes of banana out of the freezer. Too lazy to check the recipes, I figured I would do fine without them. I knew the basics!

A couple of minutes later, we were eating a delicious, soft, creamy banana ice cream. I'll tell you how to make it, but you shouldn't take the amounts of the ingredients too seriously. You can scale this up easily and you can basically wing it when it comes to the amount of milk. Just add a little until you come to the right consistency.

IMG_20180330_200747.jpg

Ingredients
For two - three

  • About two bananas worth of frozen banana slizes
  • About 1/2 - 1 cup of milk
  • About 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

  1. Get a blender that knows how to deal with frozen fruit. Drop in your banana slizes and give it a few pulses so they break into smaller pieces.
  2. Add around 1/2 cup of milk, add the vanilla extract and start blending.
  3. Keep blending until all of the bananas are broken up and you have a nice, creamy mix. During this, add some splashes of milk until you feel you've got the right consistency.
  4. Serve immediately.

Enjoy!




Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |Patreon |

| Check out Mannabase to receive free basic income (ref link) |

Fair warning: Beggars, copy/paste comments and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort:  

What a great way to use fruits that are about to be damaged so you don't have to throw them away.
I currently live in Venezuela and here they are known as "Cambures" and bananas are another style that are fried with oil, but I understand what you are talking about.

I'll try anytime to try it and I'll let you know how it looks.

You know, I don'T like bananas, but the kids do, and sometimes there are just the one or two lying around turning brown. Once my mom had bananas lying around but she and my brother had been sick with an intense cold, so she brought them to me for me to turn into a cake. Abracadabra poof, two brown bananas into cake that Frank devoured with pleasure :p I wanted cake too, so I made myself some date cake.

This Summer, during that month where we have the kids, I'm sure I'll have to save bananas from turning bad at some point. Might try this.

Oh yes, banana cake is a great way to get rid of them aswell! This ice cream is a nice and easy alternative for warm days :D

Date cake you say? Hmm, I just bought some dates...

Sounds good!, if I try, I'll let you know how it went.

Hello my dear friend! Today is a big holiday in Ukraine - Palm Sunday! It is said that something can be wished on this day and it will surely come to fruition! So today, I want to wish you happiness, health and harmony to you and your family! I wish you creative success and never stop at the achievement! I believe that my wishes will be fulfilled for you! Who is such a happy person? Happy people call those who know what they want and aspires to achieve their goals. Who is planning to implement the most cherished dreams and not afraid of difficulties. I think you can be called happy - let this happiness not leave you all your life, let your dreams come true one after another, let it bring joy! Your friends are always close to you, your relatives are ready to help at any moment - let it always be!6413.png

Aww thank you so much dear, you always manage to put a smile on my face with your sweet words :-)

So happy i was able to upvote this before your payout:)) loved it @playfulfoodie!! And I found this just in time -as I have 3 bananas that could have gone to waste very soon!
Looks very simple, will give this recipe a try!
By the way, found you through @thekitchenfairys mention about you in her latest post 🤗
Looking forward for more! Have a great day @playfulfoodie!

Aww thank you @cooknbake! Happy I was able to save your bananas from going to waste. I hope you'll like the ice cream :D

How nice of @thekitchenfairy to mention me, thanks for giving me a heads up :D

Have a good day!

I love banana ice cream and your laid back way of making it. Thanks!

Thank you, glad you like the post!

Ah what i wouldn't give right now im a fan of anything banana, looks yummy!

Ooh then you should definitely try this one day :D

No need to be all fancy with high-tech kitchen tools and lots of ingredients. I like simple! resteemed

Exactly, I love easy and simple (and quick)! Happy you like the recipe, thank you :D

Excelente, se ve fácil, lo haré. Gracias.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01