I didn’t eat for 2 days – by choice! (Part 2)

in #food6 years ago

It’s now day 2 of my longest fast to date and despite wondering if I would be able to fall asleep at all, I find that I slept as well as I ordinarily would – no better or worse. I woke up and realised that the persistent and troublesome gurgling of the night before had passed (thank goodness!) but I definitely felt quite weak and lethargic. It was only later in the morning that I began to feel a bit more alive, which was quite relieving!

 
The day didn’t actually go badly at all and my stomach doesn’t feel nearly as dreadful as it did the night before. I definitely think that the symptoms would improve if I carried on past day 2 (they do say that the first 2 days are the worst) but I really don’t have the energy or desire to push myself past that point. This has been a very exhausting experience – mentally, physically and emotionally – and I think I need a few months to prepare myself to venture deeper into this canyon (not to mention the fact that it isn’t necessary or advisable to do a longer fast too often).

 

 
Day 2 ended up going surprisingly well and definitely better than the day before. It was amazing that my hunger, appetite and desire for food eventually disappeared altogether; all I was left with was a hollow pit in my stomach and a slight feeling of lethargy and sometimes light-headedness. By the time I got home from work, I was reasonably energetic, in fact more than usual. Perhaps this was because I knew the end was nigh and I was subconsciously excited! I got more done than I ordinarily would’ve and even went for a short run/walk to see how I felt and I actually felt pretty darn good – I could’ve actually run more!

 

 
I broke my fast at around 46 hours with a can of coconut water and some fruit and still had absolutely no inclination to eat – such a weird feeling for someone who always thinks about food and is always “hungry”.

 
I later had a sweet potato and vegetables for supper and a bit of bread with PB&J on for dessert. I wasn’t sure how to appropriately break my fast but I felt fine after eating what I did. It was quite a welcomed feeling to feel “normal” again and not like I had a major hole in my stomach – that feeling was by far the hardest part of this whole thing.

 

 
This fasting experiment was done for the physical healing benefits of giving my digestive system a reboot and a rest, allowing my body time to focus on self-healing instead of constant digestion and the myriad of other benefits that it provides. It was also done because I have always had a reasonably unhealthy relationship with food and I need to work on my mental and emotional connection to eating. Fasting provides a very therapeutic way to reassess why and when we eat in a world where we are bombarded with a smorgasbord of food options, deathly junk food at every turn and emotional eating to comfort us during our darkest times.

 
Despite these being the primary reasons for me fasting, it has also really given me a new-found perspective and appreciation for all that I have. I really do think it is so important that we immerse ourselves in these uncomfortable situations in order for us to not only reboot our bodies but also our sense of gratitude; to acknowledge the true abundance we live with. Chances are, if we are lucky enough to be on a computer reading this STEEMIT post, we are better off than millions of people worldwide and thus have endless things to be grateful for.

 

 
This fast was a fascinating experience as I pushed myself over a pre-existing precipice but it was by no means enjoyable! I’m not sure if there will be any noticeable benefits but knowing that I’ve had this healthy reset makes it worthwhile.

I definitely would like to do a 3-5 day fast next – but it sure won’t be anytime soon! :D

If you missed part 1 of this post, please feel free to check it out here!

 


 
 

Plant-strong animal lover and activist
Earth child
Spiritual warrior
Mountain biking explorer
Lover of wisdom
Follow me on Instagram - plantstrongsoul
Sort:  

it is not so healthy...

Hey @cryptotrader, what makes you say that? What have you experienced/researched?

Great post.
You might be interested to know that fasting with prayer has been a form of spiritual enlightenment and strengthening since Old Testament times. In The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, members observe a monthly 24 hour fast for these purposes. Also it is used as a way to care for the poor or needy. The money we would have spent on the meals that we fast for, is donated to the Church which is collectively used to help those in need. Each month in South Africa alone many thousands of Rands are raised every month and distributed.
The health and spiritual benefits are enjoyed by those who fast. It is usually the first Sunday of each month that we fast and it is sometimes the most enjoyable of Sundays in the month.
Anyway, well done.

Hey @mambaman, that is so awesome to hear! I do my best to be involved in projects of community outreach and upliftment so that sounds fantastic. I think as soon as you do something with the focus being on others instead of yourself, it make it easier to endure things that aren't easy because you know there is meaning behind it!

100%
For example - it is amazing how much we can endure for a loved one

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45