Vegan Squash Pizza for #FFF {Always Good for Leftovers}

in #food5 years ago

Hey guys! It's been a while since I jumped into the @foodfightfriday fray (does that make it quadruple F?), but I've been saving up this yummy vegan pizza to share with you all that I made a few weeks ago. Better late than never, and like I said in the title--pizza is always good leftover. 😉

IMG_20190526_165038559.jpg

Usually I leave the pizza-making to @dksart as he has gotten pretty good at it, but I wanted to play with some of the squash blossoms from the garden myself. Making dough has always intimidated me a little bit, so it was also a good opportunity to just jump in and get my hands sticky! I did mess it up a little bit by mixing in too much water, but it all turned out ok. I just used a random recipe for a basic whole grain pizza dough I found. I opted for spelt flour as I do enjoy the nutty flavor. Check out @gguy773 for some really great bread and dough options as he has become a master of making homemade goods like that!

IMG_20190526_160357065.jpg

I also have to give @thekitchenfairy a shout since she encouraged me to finally give Chao a try! I don't often buy the store-bought vegan cheeses, but since everything else on the pizza was homemade I figured I'd splurge for once. Holy cow, is that stuff good! It melted really well and had a great tangy flavor. It's not cheap, but totally worth it once in a while if you want that indulgent cheesy flavor and texture.

IMG_20190526_154651340.jpg

With all of the squash we have growing in the garden, we definitely have plenty of blossoms to spare for use in the kitchen. Though we don't have any mature squash yet, so I used some yellow summer squash from the farmers market as a logical pair for the veggie toppers. One of my favorite farmers has also had beautiful fennel lately, so sliced fennel added extra flavor and veggie goodness.

IMG_20190526_155924364.jpg

I didn't want to do a red sauce to overpower the vegetables, so instead I made a simple pesto from herbs out of the garden. I think it was a mixture of some of the fennel fronds, parsley, dill and oregano blended up with some tahini and sunflower seeds. After the dough was ready I layered on the pesto, then the sliced squash and fennel. I tried to make sure they were sliced thinly enough to cook without the crust burning. You could also cook them first before garnishing the pizza if you really want them soft.

IMG_20190526_160339949.jpg

After that I broke up a few pieces of the cheese, then finished it off with the squash blossoms. Into the hot oven on the pizza stone for about 20 minutes until the crust was nice and crispy on the bottom and the toppings warm and delicious!

IMG_20190526_165143228.jpg

We restrained ourselves and ate half the first day, then saved the other half for the next. I was happy to have the leftovers to enjoy after my half marathon for some great recovery fuel. I think I would have been just as happy without the cheese as I don't really miss dairy, but for a treat every now and then it's nice to have some really good options on the market for plant-based alternatives!

IMG_20190526_170256922.jpg

Alright, now I'm hungry. Off for more leftovers from a different meal for dinner...have a great weekend my friends! Happy Father's Day to all the dads out there. We'll be celebrating ours here with quality time and some more good food!

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Yummy pizza Friday

Yes indeed! ☺️

Posted using Partiko Android

Always, always, always a pleasure to run into you, Plants. Chao? Man, I’ve never even heard of it. I know Ciao! As in what we’re about to say to CR! 😉

Quite a few of my buddies have said something like “vegan pizza, it’s not even possible.” Uhm.. really? Just minus the cheese and you might be surprised that’s its still a.. wait for it, wait for it..... “pizza.”

Great entry Champ, knucks to dksart—ya’all have a great weekend. Thanks a lot for joining us. 👍🏿

Haha, so many new products in the plant-based world that it's definitely tough to keep up! We vegheads definitely don't miss out on anything. 😉

Sounds like a good move ahead! I know you're making a pit stop stateside, but what's next on the map after that? I do believe I saw something about beans on toast...? 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

Beans and toast apparently is an English thing. Pura grew up with it—her dad’s from England. He isn’t with us anymore and I think it’s time to take her there so she can get a feel of the place her dad comes from. We’re really looking forward to it. I don’t know how long we’ll stay, a few months at least.

And then there’s steemfest in Thailand, the first week in November—you’re going right? Plants, it’s way too early in the year to say no! We’ll see you there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's awesome to be able to connect to that part of her heritage. I've heard great things about England, so I'm sure you guys will enjoy the experience! One of these days I'll really start saving up my pennies so I can make it over that way. My dad's grandfather came over from Denmark, so that's still really high on my list to visit.

Don't hold your breath on a P2P sighting at Steemfest, haha. Never say never, but that is one hefty price tag on the flight over that way. We had a friend invite us to his wedding out that way in April and had to decline as much as it would have been killer to make it happen!

I will show this to my husband.. he is the cook here. Tonight he is making a vegan pizza, of course, he has his favorite way. Squash is something I never considered.

Too funny! Friday is definitely a good night for pizza. I like this combinations. I have a tendency to put way too many toppings so it all just blends together. This was nice to let each one really shine, but it all worked well together. Hope your meal is just as good!

Thats a loaded and tasty looking pizza

Thanks for being an Active Member of SteemUSA !tip

Thank you! It was a good one for sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

🎁 Hi @plantstoplanks! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Market Friday Bar And Signs. Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Yea, this pizza only looks delicious. I love me some pesto too. I’m with ya on pizza without cheese. We initially thought that we wouldn’t want pizza anymore after going plant based but then I made some with extra veggies and sauce and we didn’t miss the cheese at all. It’s been hard for me to find a vegan cheese I actually like anyway. Per usual your dish looks outstanding and makes me want to eat again even though I just finished dinner. So thank you for that. I’ll be talking down those hungry dogs all night now 😉. Happy food fight Plants!

Ps. That crust looks on point!!

Pizza is basically like one really large slice of bread, so when you think of it like that it opens your mind to all different toppings. 😜 This Chao was pretty darn good, much better than most of the others I've tried. But I can totally take it either way! Happy I had a chance to jump in this round with you guys. We're about to head out to hang with some dads for the weekend, but I promise I'll squeeze some time to drop by your post with a comment when I get some down time in between! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Take your time my friend. I have been slacking on my Steemit socializing myself.

Yep, pizza= bomb bread. I’ve always loved deep dish just for that reason, more bread. It’s like potatoes, such a shame they both get such a bad rap. Maybe when we touch down in NY I’ll try that cheese you used. It looks pretty good especially for a once in awhile thing. It’s always good to see ya in the ring, Girl! Between your running, work, niece, and cooking it’s quite impressive every time you show up for a food fight: have you heard how cool you are today? You’re totally frikken cool! Enjoy your pops my friend!

Whew, Monday already. It's definitely been a food fight meets fruits and veggies catching up on my meal prep after hanging with the family all weekend. Just taking a break before I hit the next round. My greedy self may visit the farm for more berries and finally some peaches tomorrow if the weather cooperates, so trying to get all my cooking done today just in case. 😉

How long will you be in NY? That's definitely a pizza haven. After growing up in New Jersey, we didn't often eat pizza when we first moved down here because it couldn't even come close!

Chao all the way 💃💃💃💃

Whaaaat...didnt know we could eat the blossoms. What do they taste like???

It is delicious! I probably need to try the blossoms again in something else because they did blend in a bit on this. They're not overly floral or anything. I'll keep you posted when I try more. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, that looks so delicious!

Thank you my friend! Still working on my dough skills, but it turned out pretty darn good regardless!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! Squash blossums, really? This is great, never would have thought to include those in salads, on pizza? This pizza looks amazing, @plantstoplanks :) I'm sure it was welcomed after the half marathon, lol Beautiful pizza!

We have so many of the blossoms right now, they just seemed like a great addition on top! I only ran a 5k this morning and I'd still be happy to have some of this right now. 😉 I can't complain, though, as we're heading up to hang with family for the weekend so I will definitely get fed well!

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks delicious! Good use for squash flowers! I think the only recipe I've heard of using them for is kinda of like squash flower tempura so I'll have to try them on something like this. Thanks for sharing!

Yes! I've seen them that way, too, but was too lazy to try to stuff them this time. Maybe next time!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24