Slow Cooker Magic {Curried Farro, Lentils & Cauliflower}

in #food6 years ago


I love when meals you just throw together turn out even more delicious than you expected.  It's even better when you use the slow cooker which means you literally just throw everything into the pot, turn it on and go get other stuff done.  I kept my meal plan really simple this week thinking it would just be a slower week for me sharing recipes, but surprisingly everything has turned out too tasty and easy not to share with you all!


I actually haven't used the slow cooker in a few weeks, which is a shame because it is really great to use when the weather is hot and you don't want to steam up the kitchen.  Besides my new Vitamix, it is still one of my favorite kitchen tools because it really does make meal prepping so much easier.  If you can chop up a few vegetables then you can use a slow cooker.


In the theme of keeping this quick and easy, I'll keep my post short and sweet, as well.  I also didn't take a whole lot of pictures since I had no intention of sharing it until I had a bowl and realized how good it was.  I was also too busy drooling over my nice cream recipe and taking glory shots of that.  I think I took enough to do it justice, though! ;)



Slow Cooker Curried Farro, Lentils & Cauliflower

Makes 8 servings

  • 1 cup farro, rinsed
  • 1 cup red lentils, rinsed
  • 2 medium carrots, sliced into rounds
  • 1 onion, peeled & chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, seeded & chopped
  • 1 head of cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded & minced
  • 1 thumb-sized knob of ginger, peeled & minced
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 5 cups water (just enough to almost cover the vegetables)
  • 2 teaspoons curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger (optional--I love ginger!)
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne (if you want extra heat)
  • fresh chopped mint to serve


Place everything in a 5-quart slow cooker.  Gently mix together, then cover and turn to high heat.  Cook for about 3 hours.  If the lentils and farro aren't cooked through, cover and cook for an additional 30 minutes until soft.

Spoon into bowls and sprinkle in some fresh chopped mint.  Slow cooker meals are awesome as leftovers, so a big batch is great to make for weekly lunches or quick dinners once the kids are back in school!




Sort:  

Looks very delicious, I love cauliflower!

Thank you @proanima! Cauliflower is so great--you can use it in so many different ways!

I have to buy this slow cooker too...............I really love food like this. Great recipe Katie, I only wish I have some right now 🌸💖🌸

You don't have a slow cooker?! I have 2, haha! Technically it may be 3 if you count the Instant Pot since it has a slow cooker feature on it. I like to think I'm not too materialistic, but apparently my kitchen is. ;)

I actually did initially think about making this in a pot on the stove, but at the last minute realized it would be just as good and even easier to stick it in the slow cooker and do other things for a few hours. :)

Looks delish! Wish I was more inclined to cook, because this really does look great!

That's the great thing about the slow cooker--it does the cooking for you! You can always go super easy and buy pre-chopped veggies... 😉

U raise a good point. I just dont like leaving it running when i'm not here

I don't usually either. I have put stuff in overnight, though. ;)

Most often though I cook with it when I can be doing other stuff around the house so I can still check it if need be. Still makes it a lot easier than standing over a pot on the stove. :)

wow that looks brilliant🍲

I don't know what I would have done without my slow cooker....while raising kids, sports and working full time, it was my personal cook lol. I would start something before work, put bread in the bread maker and walk in at night to the heavenly smells of dinner! This look amazing, I think I have everything...dinner tonight? Love it!

It really is such a great tool! I don't even have kids and it's a life saver. 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80