The Healthiest Nut- and Oil-Free Vegan Cheese Recipe ever

in #food6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to the #vegancheesechallenge held by @deliciousplants.

As a type 1 diabetic, I follow a Low-Fat, Plant-Based, Wholefood Diet which helped me improve my disease enormously and helps manage it in a daily bases. Being on a low-fat diet means that I eat less than 30 g of fat per day which equals 70 g (2 oz) of nuts per day or a few slices of avocado, and oils are totally eliminated from my diet.

Cheese is obviously known for having a high fat content, even vegan cheeses, because they are usually made of soy beans or nuts, which are not ideal for me.

So I used all my creativity to come up with a vegan cheese recipe without using oil or any kind of nuts, and the solution is one of my favorite veggies: ZUCCHINI!!

20170821_142906.jpg

Recipe:

  • medium zucchini
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp agar-agar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • fresh parsley, chopped (optional)

Slice the zucchini and steam it. Once it's soft, put it in a food processor with all the ingredients except the parsley. Blend it all together and once it's smooth, stir in the chopped parsley. Pour it in silicone muffin forms, and wait until it cools down, then put it in the fridge. Once it congeals, it will be nicely sliceable.

IMG_20170821_161705_654.jpg

I wouldn't say it has the same taste as regular cheese, but I like it very much, and my family does, too, even though they are not vegan :)

Sort:  

Great idea!

Thank you very much :)

I've never heard of vegan cheese made this way, amazing! 😋

Haha yes, it's definitely not a common version of vegan cheese :)

Hi Miri, this recipe is definitely different than all the others. It is special, and I have not seen a similar recipe so far. I have some Agaragar at home, but so far I have not used it a lot. Would be very interesting to try the consistency of this vegan cheese!
CU, Chris

Dear Chris, I hope you'll try it out since you have agar agar at home anyways :) If you do so, please let me know how it was.
Have a wonderful day, Miri

Hi Miri, I have bookmarked your recipe! I am really curious!
Thanks, I wish you also a wonderful day!
CU, Chris 😀

Wow miri, i really like the presentation. I agree with you, i'm not a fan of cheese substitutes!

Thank you so much my Dear :) I'm glad you like it!

It does look so delicious, Im wondering how it will taste. The weekend will bring some time to try it myself. Hopefully I can make the kids happy as well.

I'm glad to hear that, let me know how you liked it :)

well they look really good ... wow

Thank you very much :)

What a brilliant solution to cheese usually being so unhealthy and full of oil! 🌱

Thank you for your entry into the #vegancheesechallenge! 👏

This is great! I always try to do without oil if possible because of the fat content! Zucchini is a delicious vegetable!

Yes, I hope you'll try it out, it's very easy ti make :)

This is really a unique vegan cheese recipe!

I really have to try to make these :) They look amazing =)

Thank you very much @nicoleslife! :) I hope you will like it, please let me know after you made it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64856.09
ETH 3426.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56