Raw Chocolate Ganache Cake made of Avocados - Avocadocontest

in #food6 years ago

This is my second entry to #avocadocontest held by @deliciousplants: Raw Chocolate Ganache Cake made of avocados

Even though I'm on a low-fat, plant-based diet and the amount of oils and fats I eat per day is very limited, I like avocados and I eat them every now and then, but no more then 3-4 slices per day. Although this recipe is not low-fat at all,

I had three reasons to create this chocolate cake.

First of all: I saw this contest and I started brainstorming immediately without even noticing it.

Secondly: it's so easy to deal with avocados, you usually don't need any special equipment to prepare a nice meal made of them.

Thirdly: Currently I'm travelling across Mexico, and I'm Couch Surfing in Tulum, where my host, at whose place I'm staying right now, has birthday today. I wanted to surprise him with some home made cake, so I needed a quick and simple recipe which I can make in no time.

IMG_20180217_222016_070.jpg

Ingredients:

For the base

  • 70g almonds
  • 30g desiccated coconut
  • 70g pitted dates

For the filling

  • 2 medium sized ripe avocados
  • 70g raw cacao powder
  • 40g coconut oil
  • 100g agave syrup (you can substitute with any kind of sweetener you like)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • pinch of Himalayan salt
  1. For the base, blend the almonds in a food processor, then add the dates and the coconut and blend until the mixture forms a ball. (If it's too dry, add 2-3 more pieces of dates.

  2. Sprinkle the bottom of a spring form pan with desiccated coconut evenly, then press the dough into the bottom with your hands. The coconut will help avoid the cake to stick to the bottom. Place it in a freezer to harden until you make the ganache.

  3. Place all the filling ingredients in a food processor and blend them until smooth and creamy. Pour it over the base and set it in the freezer for 60 minutes, then you will be able to slice it up.

(If you have a good food processor, your cake will look more smooth than mine on the picture, but I was happy that I found at least a small and old food processor at my host's place, so I was able to prepare the cake.)

Sort:  

Huha, Nagyon jol nez ki! :)

Köszönöm szépen :)))

Oh wow this looks incredible! Definitely going to try making this at the weekend!

I'm.so glad to hear that!! Let me know how it was after you made it ;)

This looks and sounds so good! :)

Thank you so much @emilyl :))

This raw cake looks amazing! And those raspberries!! Yummy!

Thank you so much for your nice compliment my Dear! I'm so glad you like it :)

Nagyon szivesen! :)

Okay now I want pie., THIS PIE.
I'm going to have to add this to my summer recipe book.
Glad I was looking through @jerrybanfield's discord channel #resteem-request or I would have missed this.

Dear @libertyranger, I'm so glad you like it :) And @jerrybanfield's discord channel is really amazing, I love browsing over there and reading other's posts which I would definitely miss if I wasn't in the group.

looks very nice, I would like a piece of it, have already cooked coffee :)

Ohh I'm so glad you like it!! I wish I could send some over :D

I love using avocados in combination with chocolate. Great recipe! :)

Thank you very much! Yes, avocados are so universal, they can be eaten salty or sweet, or just plain, as well.

Que rico me gusta mucho la torta de cocholate jajaja

Muchas gracias :)

Wow! Such a beautiful cake and healthy too... who could resist? Not me!!! :-)

Thank you so much my Dear, I'm so glad you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62875.13
ETH 3030.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67