Lettuce Wraps with Veggies and Hummus for Fruits and Veggies Monday

in #food7 years ago (edited)

The healthiest wraps ever: LETTUCE WRAPS!!!

This is my entry to #fruitsandveggiesmonday held by the wonderful vegan foodie @lenasveganliving.

image

In Mexico, people are known for eating tortillas, wraps, tacos and burritos for almost every single meal. I decided to create some wraps using only veggies, I even substituted the regular corn- or white flour tortillas with lettuce, to make it healthier.
This is how I came up with these lettuce wraps.

They are simple, easy, quick and nutritious, as well as super delicious.

Ingredients:

  • Lettuce leaves
  • Hummus
  • Cucumber sticks
  • Red pepper sticks
  • Carrot sticks
  • Red cabbage

Simply spread some hummus on the lettuce leaves than put veggie sticks in the middle and I roll them up. That's all. Isn't it easy? 😉

image
image

Enjoy :-)

Sort:  

Super fresh and healthy! This is a great idea, thanks for the tip!

You are very welcome @dirkboy41, I'm so glad you like it :)

Sshhh, don't tell anyone it's basically a salad in another form. 🤣 Haha, it is a really good way to get someone to eat their veggies even if they say they don't like salad!

Too late! Now everyone knows (it's salad). I'd eat the lettuce wraps, though. I'd probably like them more than the corn tortillas, too, when it comes down to it. I'm a big fan of Mexican food (my wife is originally from Mexico), but I like flour tortillas still. Either way you go is quite a few calories (if we're counting those).

I'd probably end up adding other things, to the lettuce wraps, but since this is about vegetables, I'll stop right there.

Haha, there is something fun about eating with your hands--even if it is all veggies, right? 😉 I usually meet in the middle if I'm doing tacos. One or two small tortillas if they are good quality with no junk ingredients, then I'll eat the rest without.

Oh yes, I really like the traditional homemade corn tortillas, I've been eating a lot of them lately :D There are lots of local "tortillerias" in Mexico, where you can even see how the tortillas are made, and they are only made of corn and water. It is soo cool! I'm definitely going to make my own tortillas when I'm gonna be back in Hungary

I'm sure you would like it :) I never eat white flour, but I like corn tortillas though. And you can add any kind of ingredients to the wrap basically, there is no limit :)

Exactly!!! And what I also noticed lately, if I cook for my friends and I don't say it's vegan, they don't even notice that they have a meal without meat. But if I say it's vegan, they just wanna grab some meat. Isn't it weird? :D

This looks so fresh. I love Lettuce wraps. What type of Hummus did you use?

It is homemade, low-fat hummus, using only chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice, little salt and plant-based milk. No oil or tahini. But you can use any kind of hummus you like :)

I've actually never tried it. I will try to be creative.

Such a great recipe. It's been so long since I made lettuce wraps. Thanks for the reminder. Yours look so good.

Thank you vefry much Amy, I'm glad you like it :) Yeah, sometimes we forget about some recipes we haven't done for a while and it's always good to be reminded every now and then.

Hello friend, I hope you are well, healthy, colorful and delicious that more can be asked for!

This is a fantastic idea. As long as your wraps don't include kale, I'm in!

Haha actually I love kale, too, but this one has no kale in it so I'm sure you would like it :)

I will love to taste it. Thanks for educating us on how to prepare tortillas .kudos dear

You are very welcome my Dear, I'm glad you like it :)

I would totally eat 10 of those!

Ohh yes, it's quite hard to stop. But you know what's the best part in it? You can eat as much as you want, you won't gain weight because they only contain veggies which are very low in calories, and I also used my homemade, low-fat hummus without oil, so it's just perfect :))

I need to start making my own hummus, and get back to a low fat no oil diet. Thanks for your inspiration!

You are very welcome, I'm glad to hear that I inspired you with my recipe :) Actually all my recipes are totally oil-free and very low-fat, because I follow a low-fat, plant-based, wholefood diet. So check out my recipes for more inspiration if you want, I hope you'll like them :)

Will do, thanks.

Mmmm looks very delicious and crunchy. Wish i could i taste now 😊

I'm glad you like it :) I wish I could sent some over... ;)

WOW...definitely putting that recipe on my list....so healthy looking :))

I'm so glad to hear that! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46