Crunchy Vegan Cauliflower Wings Recipe

in #food7 years ago

Do you like the taste of chicken wings but you are vegan? Cauliflower wings are the perfect vegan version of them.

One of my favourite veggies is cauliflower because it can be used as a great healthy substitute for many ingredients. It can be used for making pizza crust, tacos, it can substitude rice or even chicken. It has no strong flavour, so it can absorb any kind of flavour we add to it. It is a real superstar!

In this recipe, I'll show you how to make healthy, vegan "chicken wings" using cauliflower instead of chicken and chickpea flour instead of wheat flour, to make it healthy. It is sooo yummy and easy to make 😍 Perfect as a snack or as an entire meal.

6ffmxc2561.jpg

Ingredients:

1 large head of cauliflower cut into florets
1 1/2 cup chickpea flour
1 cup water
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp ground paprika
1/4 tsp smoked paprika
1/2 tsp salt
Pinch of ground pepper

Preheat oven to 200 Celsius. Whisk together all the ingredients except the cauliflower florets. You will get a thick batter, then add the cauliflower and make sure they are coated everywhere.
Bake them for 30-40 minutes, or until golden brown.

You will get incredibly tast cauliflower florets that are soft inside and are coated in a crunchy chickpea blanket from the outside. You can serve them with any kind of dip or sauce. I served it with home made vegan tzatziki.

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @plantbasedmiri for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Thank you so much for choosing my recipe in the TOP5 food recipes!! I really appreciate it and it really made me happy :) Huge hug and kisses

I was literally just saying this to my co-workers today! They asked me if there were any foods I really missed eating since going vegan but I told them that I have found great substitutes for pretty much anything I've ever craved. And I mentioned how awesome buffalo cauliflower is :)

Love it, I made a few different "wing" recipes before, this one looks delish, I bet they are nice n crispy. Maybe some franks hot sauce! Oh I'm drooling now.🤤🤤🤤

Ohh yes this one is super yummy and crispy from outside. I love it :)

I really like the idea, very well done. Nice photo, do you have more photos you could share?

Thank you so much @gringalicious, your kind words really mean a lot to me!! Unfortunately I don't have any other photos of this meal. I dropped my phone into water and the camera is not working very well right now, but I'll change it as soon as possible to be able to take nice photos again :D

i love chicken wings.
thanks for sharing new wings reipe.
i must try this.
@qami

You are very welcome :) I hope you'll like it

Looks yummy! I'm gonna cook it for next lunch. But i have to find a different sauce cuz finding vegan yogurt is very hard in my country. Do you have other sauce suggestion?

I'm glad you'll make it :)) So happy to hear that! Well, it goes with any kind of sauce basically. With sweet and sour sauce, or buffalo sauce, or even tomato sauce, or anything you like.

Awesome idea! I was never a fan of chicken wings (before I was vegan) but this actually sounds a lot better than chicken wings so thanks for this awesome idea!

You are very welcome, I'm glad you like it :)) Actually I never liked chicken wings either, but this one I do :D

oh I Love cauliflower and these look great will give them a go for sure, thanks for sharing the recipe @plantbasedmiri.

You are very welcome, I'm so glad you like it :)

that food looks exquisite and the cauliflower is a good substitute in that we are in Venezuela, substitute one thing for another thanks for your recipe I learned something new, that the cauliflower replaces the chicken.

You are very welcome my dear, I'm so glad you like it :)

I was never a wing fan even when I ate meat, but I love the idea of a chickpea batter! I'm working on some recipes with black bean flour. Beans for the win! 😁

Ohh black bean flour sounds fantastic!!! It's such a great idea!! Can't wait to see your post about it ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84