Five Great Sources of Plant Based Protein

in #food6 years ago

If you are a blossoming vegetarian or perhaps just trying to reduce the amount of meat in your diet and are looking for alternative protein sources, your options are plenty. High protein content, healthy, tasty, and meat free foods are completely attainable. Here are a few of my favorite options:

1.Soy

Soy based products such as tempeh, tofu, and edamame offer full protein sources with each of your necessary amino acids, all while being extremely versatile. Packed with calcium and iron and 8 to 16 grams of protein, depending on preparation, soy products are an undeniable staple for anyone considering a meat free or meat reduced diet. Marinated tofu is the perfect main dish alongside any number of sides and edamame adds a unique texture to grain bowls and salads.

2.Peanuts

Full of monounsaturated fat (the good, healthful fat found in avocados, olive oil, and many other nuts), roasted peanuts will give you about 6 grams of protein per serving, while peanut butter will add over 8 grams per serving to your diet. Peanuts or peanut butter make a tasty, protein rich snack.

3.Quinoa

Another complete protein (protein containing all essential amino acids), quinoa is a tasty way to boost the protein content of almost any meal. Quinoa contains over 14 grams of protein per serving. It serves as a wonderful base for grain bowls, and is a fantastic addition to soups, salads, burritos, and many other meals.

4.Lentils

With almost 9 grams of protein in each serving and a distinctly meaty texture, lentils make a fantastic meat substitute. As a perfect base for veggie burgers and an easily prepared add in for stews, sauces, and dips, lentils also offer a great source of filling fiber and fatigue fighting iron.

5.Chickpeas


Containing 15 grams of protein per cup, chickpeas are wonderfully adaptable to many dishes and an incredible source of fiber, vitamins, and trace minerals. Delicious in almost any meal, and equally great when mashed into a hummus dip, chickpeas are a modifiable and healthy inclusion to any diet.

Sort:  

Nice material!
Peanuts are the best :D

Thanks for sharing and uploading photos of all those marvellous fruit can't wait to try this and reduce the amount of meat in my diet
To my advantage am a vegetarian
Check blog upvote and follow @thunderstruck1
thanks for sharing such wonderful post I love peanut.

I eat meat regularly yet I often have most of these of these protein based proteins. I don’t eat soy very often, but I’m willing to incorporate it more into my diet. I’ve had tofu a few times, and I’ve had edamame as an appetizer, but I’m just not confident when cooking with tofu. I tried it with a stir fry instead of chicken before and it was ok. I guess I should just keep experimenting with it.

Side question: for cooking is it better in your opinion to get firm or soft tofu? I’m never sure of that.

Quinoa, chickpeas and lentils are some of my favorite foods, thank you for the good information in your article.

perfect👌

Posted using Partiko Android

I use Soy oil and Soy milk, it is healthy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52