Food Photography: bramboraky - potato pancakes from Czech Republic

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

I have already mentioned that the #foodphotography contest hosted by @juliank is one of those I rarely compete in for a very simple reason - I am horrible at taking food photos :D

Today, however, I will make an exception as I recently prepared one of my favorite meals and I would like to share the recipe and some photos with you. Now both of the images were taken by me but please consider them more of illustration rather than contest entries as they are both quite awful.

The dish is called "bramboraky" in the Czech language and it is basically potato pancakes.

IMG_20180628_140213.jpg

To make "bramboraky", you will need: potatoes, flour, eggs, milk, crushed garlic, salt, pepper, marjoram, cumin and oil.

Grate the potatoes, drain them and put in a bowl. Add all the remaining ingredients (except the oil) and mix it. The batter should be more liquid than solid and it should look like this:

IMG_20180628_130721.jpg
I know it does not look appetizing at all but trust me, the final product is absolutely delicious!

Heat the oil in a large pan and pour the batter in it so that it can spread equally all over the pan. Fry each "bramborak" until golden-brown on both sides. You should serve it immediately but "bramboraky" are delicious even when eaten cold :)

Dobrou chut! (=enjoy your meal)


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, make sure to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about.
If you enjoy my content, feel free to upvote and resteem :) I don’t always follow back but I upvote original and interesting comments on my posts. Have a wonderful day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Those "bramboraky" look delicious @phortun. I'll have to pass the receipe onto John who does most of the cooking around here. I'd like to try them. 😁

Haha, make sure to share the results with us :)) It is not the healthiest meal but I just love it!

I'm a big lover of most things with potatoes in @phortun. it looks like it would be pretty yummy for breakfast with bacon and eggs. 😊

Maybe... I don´t know - we actually eat it with cold milk! :D

I will try this recipe. I guess I never thought of cumin as a spice used in Czech cooking. Is it used often?

Hey Beth, yeah, we actually use cumin quite often - usually with potatoes.

No, musím neskromně říct, že se celkem povedly :D

Děláš mi chutě ;-). Už vím, co budu mít v sobotu na oběd :-D

Rád jsem byl inspirací :) Zvlášť na bramboráky. Jednou zas čas na ně dostanu takovou chuť, že si je prostě musím okamžitě udělat - byť mi to většinou trvá tak dvě hodiny a od smažení smrdí celá ulice :D

you have a good recipe, I like it

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-16T09:03:24
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 1860.06/3200.00
Total Photos: 176
Total comments: 226
Total contest wins: 12
And have also received a 4.70 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @phortun

We have planted already 3302.54 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18914.35
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Thank you! I often make potato pancakes, but nothing like this. I will need to give it a try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60998.57
ETH 2912.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65