Has anyone heard of Porketta or meat bingo? And what's your favorite regional foods and traditions?

in #food6 years ago

This was in interesting conversations I recently had with my buddy @ejr and then with my wife. Growing up here in Northern Ontario - Canada, Porketta was just always a thing. It's a essential just a pork roast with some special spices, but it's all the rage here in town. Every butcher shop has their own variety and it's served at many of the bars and pubs here in town. So when I suggested @ejr come up this weekend to take part in Porketta Bingo at a local restaurant. He was very confused, I just took it for granted that that was a thing everywhere. Turns out it isn't.


Source

A quick google search of course revealed that it generally is a pretty regional thing, especially the name "Porketta" which is very specific to northern Ontario and everywhere else it is called porchetta and doesn't appear to be very popular. So my first question was, is it something that other people have ever heard of?


Source

Porketta Bingo

Now this I suspected was a regional thing, and this pretty much only happens here in my hometown. Most weekends somewhere at some bar there is a porketta bingo game happening. It's pretty simple you get together with your friend at a table and they call bingo, often using playing cards. The winners get a pound of Porketta delivered to your table and then you play again and keep drinking. It's hugely popular and usually a packed house. This is also often done as a charity fundraiser.


Source

Anyways so after explaining this all to @ejr, he found the entire concept super bizarre but also intriguing. Of course this piqued my own curiosity and what better place to get input from all over the world then right here on Steemit.

I was wondering if anyone has ever heard of this or anything like it?

It also got me wondering what type of bizarre things are you guys doing in your hometowns that they are probably not doing anywhere else in the world.


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

I have heard of it, but have never tried it. Have some family that’s scattered around Canada. I’m suppose to do a road trip this summer up there. I’ll be on the lookout for it.🍺

They you go make a food list of crazy Canadian food.
If you never had poutine be sure to add it too!

I will. I have had poutine before. When I was 18 me and a bunch of friends drove up to Motreal to see Rush in concert. We ended up with a bunch of locals afterwards who introduced us to it.

Lol @phelimint. Sorry man, we don't play the Meat Bingo here. You knew someone was gonna say it, Haha!

We have porchetta here, that I suspect is similar, but definitely not popular yet and only at a couple sit down, family type diners.

I just had porketta this weekend, but that was the first I'd heard of it. Some friends from Michigan's Upper Peninsula bring loads of it home to the Northern Lower Peninsula whenever they visit. They said same as you, each butcher shop has a different variety and each family has their favorite. We didn't play bingo with it; we just ate it. It was seasoned a bit like spicy Italian sausage.

Another regional favorite here in Northern Michigan is the pasty or pastie. It's basically a pastry stuffed with meat and veg. It came over with Cornish immigrant miners in the 1800's. There's really 2 camps: those that eat them with gravy (this is the proper way), and those that use ketchup (clearly incorrect).

That's perfect timing you just heard about it at the same time, I guess it's making the way around.

Looks like a good slice of meat to me...

...although I'm kinda hungry right now so that may be it. I'm gonna rob the kitchen now.

Cheers

Never heard of the porketta until literally 2 days ago when someone else mentioned it to me. Here in Seattle I can’t think of anything similar; but my husband is from Australia where it seems like every club has a meat raffle. So people will go to the club (RSL or “footy” club) and enter raffles where they can win huge trays of meat (steaks, chops, sausages). Seems very loosely like a porketta bingo. ☺️

So weird how these things seam to be grouped together in our awareness.

It's a new one to me too. But if it involves food and beer, count me in. I might be a while, you don't live that close to me!!

I'm going to investigate myself today! I'll report back and put some aside for you if we win!

I'll get out my row boat, I'll be there in a month or so...

Sorry. Porketta Bingo is only in your neck of the woods. I am from Southern Western Ontario and never heard of it.

Yeah @ejr is south eastern Ontario and never heard of it either.

I have not my dear. Please can you send some to me to taste.

beer gambling and pork a perfect combination! :)

Well, I haven't heard of this before but looking at the picture I can definitely say that I want to try some of that Porketta.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83