Leftover Bananas? Make Friends and Turn Them Into BANANA MUFFINS!

in #food7 years ago

You don't make friends with salad but you can make friends with banana muffins! I had a bunch of old, extremely ripe bananas sitting in our fridge and they were headed to the bin (trash can) but I HATE wasting food so I did a bit of research and decided to turn them into muffins = best idea EVER!

Said overripe bananas (ew I know but you need to use overripe bananas for muffins, tastes better!)

From Banana Destined for the Bin, to Banana Muffin Bliss

This is honestly such an easy recipe and SUPER quick, even quicker to make than my blueberry muffins! Literally the most effort was just mashing the bananas lol but I kind of enjoyed that part if I'm honest haha. These muffins had that beautiful crispy top and were delicious even 5 days after I baked them (kept in the refrigerator in an air-tight container).

Let's get started on how to make them!

Recipe

Step One

Ingredients required:

Step Two

Mash the bananas, sugar, egg, vanilla essence and cinnamon.

Step Three

Mix in the remaining ingredients - DO NOT overmix!! Mix until JUST combined, a few floury lumps is perfectly fine - this is the secret to beautifully moist and tender muffins.

Step Four

Scoop into muffin patty pans - I used an ice cream scoop for perfectly measured muffins :)

Step Five

25 minutes in the oven at 200-220C and your reward awaits...

HELLO BANANA HEAVEN!

How good do they look?! I love my muffins with a crispy top so I like them this dark brown, they were SO good, I should have taken a photo inside but they were very moist inside and a fantastic crispy top. They were not too sweet and just smelt amazing - like banana caramel but not as sweet smelling :)

I'm a little OCD so I used red and green patty pans and alternated the colours as you can see in the pic below when I left them to cool on the rack.

I really hope you guys enjoyed this recipe, I URGE you to make it! If you guys need the exact measurements let me know and I'll put them below :) This recipe is also great for banana bread by the way but you just have to bake it on a lower temperature and for about 40-50mins.

Let me know if you have any questions or comments, I'd love to know what you guys think :)

@phamished xx

All photos in this post are original and taken by me on my Sony NEX-5N

Sort:  

Wow great photography all the images are amazing..... foods looks really good and delicious and yummy thank you for sharing the recipe....

Thank you for your kind words - you're welcome and I'm glad you enjoyed the post and yes I'm always trying to improve with my photos :)

UPVOTED !!!!!!!!!!!!

Hahaha that's literally my face when these come out of the oven!!

Thanks friendo for the upvote :) Love your stuff as well!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84