Chorizo Shakshuka w/ Olive Bread - An Easy, Home Cooked, Sunday Brunch Recipe

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Shakshuka or shakshouka or chakchouka...however you spell it, it's a breakfast dish that hails from the Middle East and is essentially eggs baked in a spicy tomato sauce. Sounds simple? It is but it's absolutely delicious too.

Let's get to it!

Cooking Instructions

Step One

Ingredients required:

Pretty simple and most of these I already had at home!

Step Two

Slowly cook down the diced garlic and purple onion:

Step Three

Add the chopped chorizo and capsicum and saute until colour develops -- I'm not going to lie, I started picking at the dish already, it was already delicious at this point so I knew we were onto a winner !!

Look at this colour --

Step Four

Add tinned tomatoes

Step Five

Cook down until thick, add in eggs and pop into the oven for about 5 minutes.

Step Six

In the meantime slice up some bread, I picked up a beautiful olive loaf this morning:

Step Seven

Serve!

Closing Thoughts...

I was really disappointed as I slightly overcooked it, I swear I left it in by only another minute or two but it was enough to overcook the eggs :(. The texture you're looking for is a runny egg as it mixes into the tomato and creates a perfect sauce to dip the bread. Anyway, the taste and flavour was definitely all there so it wasn't all a fail - lesson learnt for next time, keep an eye on it in the oven!!

I hope you guys enjoyed this recipe, let me know if you've eaten it, made it or would be keen to try it! I can guarantee it is a super easy recipe to make. Most of the ingredients you would probably have at home and it takes hardly any time at all and makes you look like a pro brunch chef :)

Until next time...peace out Steemit fam!

@phamished xx

Sort:  

This looks really good, I'll try to make it at some point. The wife says, that if she was not vegan, she would be all over it!

You could definitely make it vegan by perhaps replacing the chorizo with mushrooms and spinach? I've tried vegetarian versions before and they're pretty good. The tomato sauce is definitely what makes it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Phamished from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.45 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I may try that this morning, I haven't had my breakfast yet!

Ooh yes please do!! Let me know how you go if you did try it 😀

Looks absolutely delish although I can't stomach Chorizo :(

mystomachgrowls.mp3

Hahahah at your mp3 track 😂. Oh no, is it all chorizo or just the dried ones? I use fresh chorizo if that makes a difference

Dry ones! I am too scared to try the normal ones 😂

Oh really how come ?? You don't like the heat? The normal ones actually taste a lot fresher and slightly more moist

Maybe in a past life, I was fed only with chorizos and in this life my body rejects them 😂

Looks delicious!! Followed you and visiting from @thealliance :)

Oh hello there @mariannewest !! So nice of you to check out my profile / post and hello from an Alpha Team Member! #thealliance I'll need to check out your profile also, thank you for stopping by :)

You are welcome - and I am going to make this dish soon. Looks so delicious :)

Sorry for late reply, been MIA and so flat out with work! Did you end up making the dish? If so I hope you didn't overcook the eggs like I accidentally did, oops.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80