Baking Cranberry and Pumpkin Seed Gourmet Crackers for the Holiday Season

in #food7 years ago (edited)

PLEASE let the holiday season continue! Endless feasting of cheese, wine and crackers has marked my holidays and it's how we rung in the new year as well. They say how you start the new year sets the tone for the rest of the year so it looks like I'm in for a great year haha.

Gourmet crackers with depth and flavour

For the past few years I've always served cheese with store-bought crackers and I have absolutely loved these thin, wholewheat flat crackers I found in a specialty store. Lately however I've seen all these "gourmet" crackers in the supermarkets and then I stumbled across a great recipe to make them yourself at home. O M G is all I can say. It has changed my cheese and cracker game entirely and the best part is you can actually taste and smell every single ingredient that you add during the cooking process in the final product.

Let's begin!

Method

Step One

Ingredients required - yes there's a lot but trust me when I say that once you make these, it won't be the last time so you'll easily go through all of these at some point!

Step Two

Mix the wet ingredients of yoghurt, milk, brown sugar together.

Step Three

Mix the dry ingredients of plain flour, sugar, cranberries, turmeric, rosemary, thyme, salt, nutmeg, cinnamon and pumpkin seeds.

Step Four

Combine wet and dry ingredients and then scoop into mini loaf tins (or one large one).

Step Five

Into the oven for about 25 minutes until brown and cooked all the way through, cool on a wire rack and then put into the freezer as this makes it easier to thinly slice.

Step Six

Defrost slightly until it's no longer rock hard and then slice as thinly as you can as these are crackers so the thicker they are the harder it might be for people to eat them without breaking a tooth. Pop back into the oven on a low temp (120C) for 45-50 mins.

Final Thoughts

Although this recipe contains a lot of ingredients, it is so easy because all you're doing is measuring and then chucking it all into a bowl to mix. No need to chop, boil or prepare anything really. The end result is amazing and 100% worth it. I had so many compliments at our family Christmas dinner and what I loved the most is you could smell the nutmeg, cinnamon and taste the cranberries. Every ingredient added contributed another layer of flavour and they all made a difference.

These are perfect for the new year as I think a few of us are still entertaining so I hope this has given you some inspiration :)

@phamished xx

Sort:  

Ah haven't seen you posting in awhile since the mac and cheese. Great to see you back here posting.

Love how you make cooking seems so simple. Great baking skills shown with grace as always :)

Oh and happy new year to you!

Howdy! Yes I was super busy with family and friends and work over the holiday season but back now 😀. Thank you for the continuous support and compliment!

Happy new year to you too

Happy New Year @phamished :) This looks so good, I bet it tastes awesome.

Thank you so much @szuri!! It really was delicious I was genuinely shocked. It was so simple and they’re so good I even eat them without cheese haha.

Wow looks very healthy! I would like to eat them while it's hot :D

Thank you! Actually I did eat them whilst they were hot and they were like savoury cookies haha quite delicious. I’m not 100% sure how healthy they are but based on what I put in I can only think that the “unhealthy” part was the amount of sugar contained in the dried cranberries.

Apart from that think they’re pretty healthy! Thanks for the compliment :)

This looks so good! I will definitely try this recipe!

Yes please do! I’ve got the measurements below in case you do try:

  • 1/2 cup plain flour

  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour

  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar packed

  • 1/4 cup plain unsweetened yoghurt

  • 1 cup milk

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats

  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds

  • 1 tsp baking soda

  • 1/2 tsp turmeric, cinnamon (each)

  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg, dried thyme, salt (each)

  • 1tsp dried rosemary

  • pinch of black salt

Let me know how you go or even post it on Steemit I’m sure everyone would love to see :)

Thanks! I will let you know how it turns out.

Everything I would want in a cracker, yum!

Thank you !! The recipe was really easy to make so I'd highly recommend giving it a go, I pretty much never buy crackers for eating with cheese now :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33