13 City Football Food Tour

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Ravens Opponents Barbecue

So as you can see my socks are purple. So what lol. Last year I made signature dishes or sandwiches from most of the Baltimore Ravens opponents, on their respective game day match ups. It was a huge success. We ate everything from New England fried oyster sandwiches to New York style chicken Parmesan. The Jacksonville Seafood Salad Sandwich was one of the harder ones to decide on. I found them to be extremely culturally diverse. Talk about delicious options!!)

Ravens Socks.jpg

Seafood Salad Sandwich.jpg

The Plan

From September 09 - December 30, this will be a weekly event. One week there will be a bye week. I have no plans for that week, we will see. This will be done mostly on Sundays, as you can see. It is a very simple thing to do and very exciting. If your team loses so be it. If your food was great then its time well spent in good company. This year I have decided to do the same, cook more food. This time however, its going to be done smoky barbecue style. My rule is that at least one ingredient must be barbecued. I prefer sandwiches that are all meat based. This should be fantastic. Here is a schedule of what to expect

Ravens Schedule.jpg

Many BBQ Choices

The possibilities are many and there are a few I am particularly looking forward to such as Kansas City and Carolina, among others. Kansas City may get the honors of the Burnt Ends Sandwich as my choice. I feel to do KC justice, its going to have to be a tremendous Barbecue! San Diego may be somewhat difficult for me, We will see! What will I chose?! Last year the Po Boy Sandwich, a Cleveland treat, ranked among my favorites. It will return this year. We play Cleveland twice. Cincinnati should be fun.. Pizza burgers or Perogies for Pittsburgh? Pizza Burgers are a favorite of mine. I have planned week 1 already. This wasn't too difficult for me given the notoriety of the opponents city..Read on to see what the week 1 grill choice will be.

Po Boy.jpg

I wish it was time to play Washington. Their Half Smoke is one of my favorites. Its really a glorified chili dog. The glorification is this.....you will love it. The sausages are boiled in beer. Then sliced in half, long ways. Pork and Beef sausages are used. One half of each goes on a Philly Cheese steak style roll. Chili is poured on top along with some sprinkles of grated sharp cheddar cheese. Enjoy! I ended up with that one on my pants

Half Smoke.jpg

Football Cartoon.jpg

Stay Tuned

This event is really fun. All kinds of food is coming. Sandwiches, Barbecue and many delicious Sundays. Pork? Beef? Apple, Hickory, or Cherry Smoke? Maybe Pecan..What could I be planning...Definitely Buffalo Wings for week 1. I'll cook and smoke the wings on the grill and choose sauces of my liking. Wait until you see what I put on them...chili powder? Maybe..remember I am in the Chesapeake Bay area. We do food great, but our own way...have a great holiday weekend and an awesome week! Thanks for stopping by



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://barbecuenerd.com/2018/09/02/13-city-football-food-tour/

Sort:  

The possibilities are pretty wide open, sounds like a really fun time. I agree that KC should be BBQ, because it is KC. You could start with a moment of silence to remember Arthur Bryant then pour the meat to the bread.

Carolina is going to need mustard and slaw and vinegar based sauce. Sand Diego? Mahi Mahi might work. There is some serious Q done in Oakland and Cincinnati ought to have some Skyline Chili once.

I'm thinking you could have some serious fun and serious eating to do this season. Both are a good thing.

That burnt tips sandwich is looking mighty fine for KC!! Buffalo wings for Week 1 isn't so bad. Looking forward to it, some of these things are going to be challenging!

You are killing me with all that great looking food! lol :)

Haha, this event was insanely good last year. It can be better this time! Now, Barbecuing is my niche for it, Last year I had non barbecued foods or ones I could had added a Q element too. Thank you

Nice man! That is awesome! :) You are welcome!

Maybe on September 23 @broncofan99 will want to barbecue a Maryland/Baltimore food...Since we play each other then 🤔

This post has received a 23.09 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @persius.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00