Freshly Served : Churros

in #food6 years ago (edited)

About this time last year, CHURROS were :

http://www.pictame.com/user/papachurros/2803505472

Taking abuzz in one of my social account's page is this snack called, churros.

Popularized in many countries but originated in Spain.

This long crisps has been buzzing my page every now and then, but because I am miles away from home, I couldn’t take a chance to experience its mysterious popularity.


https://looloo.com/p/papa-churros-ayala-center-cebu

But today, I finally got to taste it. It’s simply a long doughnut only that it isn’t round and it doesn’t have a hole.

20170211_192731.jpg
Strawberry Flavored Churro from Mihara, Hiroshima

20170211_193852.jpg
Chocolate Flavored Churro from Mihara, Hiroshima

I don’t see anything special about this snack but me being sneaky , I came to know that these are life savers for people in Spain who live in the highlands where there was almost no access to freshly baked goods.


https://twitter.com/thisisspain

They needed to find a way where they could get such treat because it was very rare up in the mountains and bread was a special treat so they came to fry a cake-like bread paste in an open fire on a pan. Then whala! Churro was born which was named after the Chura sheep since it looks like the horns of it.


https://maas.museum/inside-the-collection/2011/11/18/the-peppin-merino/

Originally it’s just round but over time it got it’s famous star like shape which eventually became a staple food for the people in the highlands. They started pairing it with hot chocolate for breakfast and kids love it in the afternoon.


https://madridfoodtour.com/common-spanish-desserts-in-madrid/

Then it was discovered by travelers and was introduced to different areas and over time got different improvements and signatures depending on where it was improved.

While I was feeling the taste of my strawberry and chocolate flavored churros today, I came to realize that what may be simple for us is special for others.

Similarly to how we see the world of today. I guess we should start appreciating every single thing that comes upon us because just like you and me, we may not see how special we are in the mirror but when we see ourselves in the eyes of Christ. We are special.

Like the Churros, you are special too and so I thank you for taking your time to read this food blog.

UPVOTE COMMENT FOLLOW for more of my journeys wherever my foot may lay upon.

Thanks to my squad as well for encouraging me to do this : @dzued @theunlimited @marjomar @maryblue I <3 you all.

Sort:  

😭 ★Nice Post!!; 😭

Hmmmm, now I'm hungry 😂

hahaha food is life teh hahaha

Churros are great but Valencian Buñuelos are better :)

Oh! I'd like to know more about it. I've searched it few minutes ago and they look like mini doughnuts. Sounds interesting with their differences. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65725.20
ETH 3370.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63