TASTY BISON STEW - YUP, THAT MEANS BUFFALO

in #food6 years ago (edited)

I recently purchased some awesome gourmet meats at Custom Meats of Marathon, WI. One of my selections was a package of Bison Stew meat.

Bison Stew meat


I had never cooked Bison Stew before, so before I jumped in I consulted online resources. I had an idea of what I wanted, but it never hurts to get some fresh input. And I did find one thing that sounded perfect to implement. The idea was to coat the Bison meat with a flour and spice mix before browning.

Browning the coated Bison Meat


So I grabbed a handy gallon plastic bag and put in maybe 1/2 cup of flour along with my spices of choice. You can use whatever you like, I used some celery salt, garlic pepper, and hand ground smoked maple seasoning.

Bison, potatoes, onions & spices in slow cooker


I also diced 5 medium potatoes and 1/2 a medium onion. I took out my handy slow cooker and mixed in the browned Bison meat, potatoes, and onions with a cup of water. I also seasoned this with garlic salt, celery salt, bay leaf & dill weed. I turned the slow cooker to 80% heat for 3 hours. Finally, I mixed in one 16 oz package of frozen mixed vegetables and turned the slow cooker to 50% for another 3 hours.

Bison Stew


I can tell you that my wife and daughter could not get enough of this Bison stew. Obviously we ate the whole batch. I will be getting more Bison meat to make this again. :-D

Bowl of Bison Stew


Thanks for visiting, please follow, comments free.


Sort:  

Looks delicious and now I want stew! Thanks paradise-found!

Thank you my friend!! Yeah, it was very tasty!! :-D

looks really amazing thanks for sharing : )

Fly fishing in Montana and Bison Burgers go hand in hand. :)

That sounds wonderful!! Thanks my friend!!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 55.0% @cryptomancer upgoat, thanks to @paradise-found
It consists of $2.68 vote and $0.13 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @paradise-found to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Very good @paradise-found . . Thank's for sharing I like your posts

Thank you so much!!

Bison is a very tasty meat. Not able to get it here for obvious reasons, but we did eat buffalo and beefalo both when we lived in Canada. We were fortunate enough to have a neighbour who raised them. You should have seen the size of his fences!

That sounds nice, now that meat would be very fresh (neighbor raised)!!
Any photo's of the fences? Would love to see them.

I'll take a look in my archives. The posts on those fences were 6x6 hardwood and no barbed wire for these babies. 3/4 inch cable. They do like to rub against the posts...

Wow that looks really delicious! I personally love beef among all other meat. I heard bison meat is a healthy alternative to beef.

Thank you my friend!! It was delicious!! I love beef too!!
That's what I hear, that the buffalo meat is a health choice.
This is why, "There are many health benefits of eating buffalo. Rich in flavor, low in fat and high in protein." According to here.

It's actually pretty good. A friend in Mt Pleasant MI had a beefalo that he gave me some steaks from when it was butchered and it was incredible!

Thanks for the input my friend. This was my first time cooking Bison, and I agree, very tasty. :-D

Dude!!! This looks amazing! I love a good stew on a cold day! I might need to make this one day!

Yeah, Stew is a comfort food. I love it as well!!
You should make it, it's easy, plus it's ready when you get home!!
Happy Turkey Day!! Enjoy the football games, and good luck this weekend!!

This post has received a 22.22 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @paradise-found.

Very nice!! Thanks!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98