Paradise in the Kitchen - GERMAN PIZZA

in #food7 years ago (edited)

This is a recipe that has been passed down through at least 3 generations. My mother learned it from her mother, and now I'm presenting it to my Steemian friends. I always loved this dish, enough to request it for my birthday as a child growing up. This is what you call comfort food. A recipe every man will love.
I was 20 years old when I moved from my parents home. And at 20 most guys like to eat, but not to cook. However, I did call home many times for this recipe. Mom was always happy to tell me how it was made. So with that introduction, here it is, German Pizza!!


Begin by preparing these 4 ingredients


Peel and thinly slice 8 or 9 potatoes
dice medium onion
dice 1/2 green pepper
cut up 1 can of spam into thin slices 1/2" by 1/2" by full length of spam

I use cast iron, but any dutch oven will work. Oil your dutch oven, I use olive oil.

Using 1/3 of the potatoes, layer them to fill the bottom of the skillet.

Place you spam pieces as shown in photo.

Take 1/3 of the green peppers and 1/3 of the onions and sprinkle them between the spam pieces as shown.

Salt and pepper.

OK - now you layer your potatoes again, using another 1/3 of them.
Make sure your potatoes cover the layer of spam below.
Layer the spam, green peppers, and onions as before
Salt and pepper.

Once more, layer the potatoes, using the final 1/3.
Make sure your potatoes cover the layer of spam below.
Again, layer the spam, green peppers, and onions.
Salt and pepper.

You are now ready to cook this tasty dish.


Using a large burner, turn it to medium heat.
Place the Dutch oven on the burner, and cover.
This should take approx. 40 minutes.
Using a fork, when the potatoes can be pierced easily, it is ready for the next step.

(You can ready the eggs while the above is cooking if you want)
Take 8 or 9 eggs and 1/2 cup of milk and beat them well.

Pour the egg mixture over the combined ingredients in the dutch oven.

The eggs will seep into the dish and fill up to the spam on the surface.

Place back on medium heat, and cook (covered) until eggs are firm.
Once eggs are firm, remove from the burner (turn burner off).

Sprinkle cheddar cheese over the top and cover until melted.

Once the cheese is melted your German Pizza is ready to eat.

Years ago we had a German exchange student stay at our house for a semester. When told we were having German Pizza for a meal, he was curious to what it would be. When it was served and the cover was removed, his immediate response was, "Oh, farmers breakfast!" I suppose we call it German Pizza, not for the ingredients, but because we cut it up in slices, like a pizza (or a pie). Whatever you decide to call it, one thing is certain, it will soon become one of your families staple dishes for years to come. Maybe even for generations to come, as it has in my family.

Slice of German Pizza


I'm Paradise Found - thank you for reading.

Recipe and Photo's original to Paradise-Found
Thanks for visiting, please resteem and follow, comments free.


Sort:  

I love family traditional foods! Please consider following me as I will be adding some of my food creations as I make them as well.

Thanks for visiting @timeshiftarts. Followed.

very good @paradise-found

Thank you Joha!! Thank you for coming for a visit!! ;-D

youre wellcome :)

thanks for sharing your traditions, it is a great thing, traditions are making a community unique , love that!

Thank you Lena! Do you make anything like this in your country?

no in germany this pizza is unknown :) but we have also many tradition food and I love it :)

Now that looks delicious! Gonna go eat something :)

Thank you my friend!! I bet your boyfriend would love it!!

Definitely :)

Looks delicious! Thank you @paradise-found for the recipe!

You're very welcome!! I'm glad you like it!!

upvoted you and its great to read all your posts because it adds a great skills and knowledge in myself, already followed you and inspired from your posts, hope that you also follow me back so that it will be a great pleasure for me and a big contribution from ur side for me , thanks kindly follow me aswell @shanzaylizay

Thank you! OK, followed.

thanks alot my dear pleasure is all mine

ummm que delicia se ve muy rica esta pizza

Thank you Joha!! It is delicious!! one of my favorites!!

jejeje yes i like very delicious

This is good for brunch, breakfast or lunch!!

Cool recipe! My brother would love this :D

Thank you my friend!! I'm glad you like it, and yes, I bet he would!!

No problem. :3

That looks fantastic @paradise-found. Keep these coming

Umm, not sure how many food posts are coming. But this one I needed to do.
I love it and make it every three weeks or so. All who have tried it love it.
Thanks for your compliment Gringa, it means alot.

Would it work with actual pieces of roasted ham instead? :D

sure, that would be great. we love the spam though.

Fantastic! We aren't big on SPAM here, but we do love a nice roasted ham. :D If I get up the nerve to try to make this I'll take some pictures so you can see how it turned out, unless it looks really horrendous, if that happens I'll never tell anyone I tried it. :D LOL. :D Okay I'd tell you but I wouldn't include the pictures. :D Have an awesome day my friend! :D

thanks, you as well.
your hubby will love that dish!! ;-D

Only if I cook it right. :D LOL. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48