Walk With Me to the Farmers Market

in #food7 years ago

All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien



My goodies from the farmers market


Walk With Me to the Farmers Market

After weeks and weeks of procrastinating, myself and Mrs. Crusher finally made it to the farmers market located in Peacthree City. I have planning this trip for about a month and my main draw for this trip was a particular stand that sold various flavors of goat's cheese!

The goat cheese stand that caught my eye was Capra Gia Cheese Company. Their farm is about 40 minutes away in a nearby rural farming area and after reading about their cheese and process, I was dying to try it. I had also heard of a sausage guy that frequented the market and I knew there would undoubtedly be more surprises to be found!

As usual for me and Mrs. Crusher we were definitely running late by the time we actually arrived at the market. The market is a temporary market that sets up in the back of a parking lot of a bank and commercial office park. Once we actually parked, we had about 30 minutes to explore and make our purchases. Easy peasy for me as I am a very laser-straight-to-my-purchases kind of guy, not so much the case for my artist-need-to-see-and-experience-everything wife...lol




So as a wise man, my wife won the day and we began our trek from stall to stall. There were all types of interesting merchants from local honey to an american wagyu vendor. I have been obsessed with wagyu meats for the longest time , but his prices were a bit high for a spur-of-the-moment purchase. We promised we would come back and grab some steaks for a special occasion.




The first place we stopped with the intention of purchasing was my goat cheese stand. Since we were running late, we bore the consequences as they had sold out of their savory flavors. They had some tasting samples and we tried several with the hope of returning one weekend to buy them. They were absolutely amazing and well worth the trip. They did have some of their fruit and sweet offerings and we bought a sample pack of their plain, lemon, and cranberry varieties.

Our next stop was at the space of the sausage guy I had heard of and he had a impressive offering of various types of sausage. I was having such a hard time making a choice and then it was as if a light from heaven shown down and illuminated his chalk board right above the listing for andouille sausage! I can not describe how much I adore andouille sausage, just suffice it to say I like it...A LOT! I bought a pound of it and then I noticed that right next to his stall was a place that specialized in pimento cheese. Could this day get any better?!?




We sampled his various types and I have to say these pimento cheeses tasted as if they were made of stardust and fairy dreams. I mean they were absolutely amazing. He said his wife had been perfecting a family recipe that had been passed down for generations on her mom's side of the family. I would have to vote that she has hit the mark with her improvements. We settled on a plain pimento cheese and a container of their Bacon Asiago with Jalapenos.

Well it didn't take long at all for us to hit the stands and me to go through most of the cash on me. It was money well spent and I am happy knowing it is going to true artisans than to big box retailers. I challenge everyone to get out and visit a nearby farmers market, you never know what treasures you may find!



Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Looks like a good day, I've never heard of a wagyu before, I'll have to check around. Love the local farmers market, all the meat that comes in our home we get from a local farmer we met at the market three or four years ago.

That is so awesome. I really, really need to be doing that with my meat as well. Definitely check out wagyu. It is supposedly the best of the best. Originally it was all out of Japan and Brazil. Now more american cattle farmers are offering some. It has unbelievable marbling and the taste is reported to be phenomenal. It is a bit pricey though. Most of your bar-b-que competitors use it for their brisket.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 03:55:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 354.95/200.00
Total Photos: 43
Total comments: 111
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Oh, I love farmer's markets! I don't think any near me are open yet, though I may have heard whispers that one downtown was open. Goat cheese, yeah. I found some hella good goat cheese there once! And PIEROGIES. Ahmigahds.

Farmer markets are so great. There are some really great ones closer to Atlanta. I'll be hitting them as it gets closer to summer!

Looks like you had a great day! We love our local farmers market. They make really good desserts. 😊

This one had some great desserts as well, but I was just so consumed with getting my sausage and cheese..lol. Maybe next time.

I understand 😊 We can never go and get to everything in one day, without going broke at least

I love farmers Markets I cant wait till they start up here again soon

They are really cool.

Ohh yes indeed

Interesting to see so many homemade items on sale in this community market.

It eas really cool. Next time wecwill definitely get there earlier.

HAha, early birds get them all!

Cheese that tastes like, "stardust and fairy dreams?" Please email me some, STAT!

Seriously, thanks for the stroll through such yummy food. I need to do something similar soon, now that the weather might possibly maybe be getting better here in NH.

I'm pretty sure that the last time I checked only brie could be emailed. Thanks for commenting!

Dang it! Okay, I'll put my request on hold until the technology catches up. And you're very welcome! 😊

I like the farmer markets but like you I have to travel to get to them. We will be getting to go to several this summer and get some treats.

There are a few a short drive over to Atlanta that I've been hearing about. I'm jumping back on my juicing wagon tomorrow, so fresh veggies will be a must!

Omg now I am drooling!!! The way you described the pimento cheeses just has my mouth full of water!! mmmm and I've never tried andouille sausage before, I'll have to keep my eye out for it.

Smart man letting Mrs. Crusher tour every booth hehee.. <3 <3

Did you get your eggs?

Oh man, andouille is my favorite! I love it in pastas with alfredo or other cream based sauces. It is also excellent in a low country boil. Can you believe not one person was selling eggs? Not one! Oh well, I'll get them next time maybe.

Artisan food markets are my best! I have a stall at our little pop-up in the village, but our wares are nowhere as mouthwatering as those you talk about!

They are the best! It is one of my favorite ways to shop, unfortunately I usually spend way too much money!

Oh yes, one most definitely does!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57