Pamcooks Colourful Crunchy Coleslaw!!🥕🍎🍯🥗

in #food6 years ago (edited)

image

Folks I have had to show you this coleslaw side recipe as I have been instructed to by my 6 year old daughter.

I was showing her yesterday why mummy has been taking lots of pictures of my food.I was showing her my blogs in steemit and she was amazed.She wanted me to post her favourite side dish Mummys coleslaw.

She really dislikes the shop bought variety.So heres my simple recipe the kids can even make!


Ingredients

Half cabbage ( any variety)
2 carrots
1 Apple
1/2 cucumber
1 Small red onion
1 TBS Honey
4 TBS Mayonnaise
Salt
Crushed black pepper
Paprika
1 TBS Olive oil


Method

Step 1

Cut all the veggies into thin strips.( You can grate them if you prefer). Cut the apple into strips, do not grate this as they will turn brown and become mushy.Place the mixture in a bowl.

Step 2

To make the dressing take a seprate bowl, add the mayonnaise, honey and sprinkle paprika, salt and crushed black pepper. Mix the dressing thoroughly.

Step 3

Now pour the olive oil on the shredded vegg and apple.This will coat the mix and make it very shiny.Now pour the dressing over the vegg and apple.Place in a container and refrigerate for 2 hours.Sooo There you have it, pamcooks colourful crunchy coleslaw!

image


This recipe is very simple but very tasty. I think the apple lifts this simple coleslaw and brings it up another level.You can add any ingredients you wish it is entirely up to you.Let me know if you like this recipe.Let me know your Food for Thoughts.🍎🌽🍯🥕🥗❤

Sort:  

I have to say Pam that this looks lovely. My wife - not the best in the kitchen! - does do a homemade coleslaw, but she is very conservative with her ingredients. I shall encourage her to be more adventurous!

BTW - have you tried it with smoked paprika? I love smoked paprika!

Mat smoked paprika is amazing. I use it alot on rubs for various meats. Totally different from normal paprika.You need to get your wife on steemit.There is so much inspiration on here.You dont have to be the best cook as long as you can follow a recipe your a chef in my eyes! How about this weekend you treat the Mrs to dinner.Make a main with side of coleslaw.If she likes it she may actually make it for you.Show her the recipe.Win Win situation.😂

Pam, I do all the cooking! I am a home dad, and my wife is the breadwinner. It's complicated how we got here, but it works! I am a pretty good cook, which is a good job, because my wife could burn water...

Burn water.Thats a new one for me.You honestly made me chuckle.Whatever works for you Mat.Me and my hubby were like that 3 years ago.I went to work he was a home dad.After the birth of my fourth child I felt like i needed to stay home.Twins were half day in nursery.So it was alot of drop offs and pick ups aswell as the home chores.So now hubbys at work.I handed my resignation in end of last year.My hubby introduced me to steemit, thought was a goodway of introducing crypto to me aswell as just keeping my brain active.Now here we are👍🏼

Ah, I have been a home dad for 13 years now. It is not the career path I ever thought I would be on, but trust me, I am better in this role than my wife would be, and she is far better at earning money than I am.

Steemit is just one in a long list of ways that I have tried to earn a few quid!

Aww bless you Mat.Sometimes life doesn't exactly go to your exact plan but things happen for a reason.If it works for you and your wife thats fab.Atleast you both have established a role to suit your life.It is brilliant you can be a stay at home parent.Unfortunately in the current climate we live in alot of parents do not have that option.I feel very fortunate that I can spend quality time with my children.They grow up so quick.In the interim I will try and find ways like yourself to venture in other avenues such as steemit.This is brill to stimulate the brain and also learn about crypto.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15