Surprise! I am starting to find Kinder Joy Eggs at the stores here in Florida. What is this madness?!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

First off I want to say that one of the things I missed about being in Toronto was the access to being able to buy a Kinder Surprise egg (plus Cadbury chocolates they don't sale in Florida) whenever I wanted.   Luckily my kids got to enjoy getting and remembering Kinder eggs and playing with the various little toys.  That was one thing that made my kids sad after coming back to Florida is that they couldn't get any more Kinder Eggs.  I have heard it all from my two older children about how retarded and stupid that Kinder Eggs are illegal and banned like they are some super illegal dangerous items that could fetch a fine of $2500 if caught with it.  Anyhow moving on to the point.  While out shopping my daughter noticed Kinder Joy from a distance and about broke her neck trying to get past people and to the isle she saw it on to try and secure it incase others tried to come and buy any.  I will say she was excited to see that finally a store having Kinder Joy Eggs for sale but she was disappointed that they wasn't what she remembered exactly the Kinder Surprise eggs.   Within a week we started finding that every store is pretty much selling Kinder Joys and I've ended up buying quite a few of them...  Ferrero announced in May 2017 that the Kinder Joy (a variation of the Kinder Surprise) would be available in the US starting Jan 2018 but Walmart would have exclusive rights to start selling them on Black Friday nationwide.

Now let me sort of explain if you are wondering what I am rambling on about.  Kinder Surprise Eggs has been banned in The United States since 1938 (a ban on any type of candies with embedded toys) long before they were first manufactured in the early 1970s.  Later it was claimed that the lack of warnings for small children for the risks of choking for children under the age of 3 years and under.  After 80 years since the first 1938 ban and then 44 years since the year Kinder Surprise eggs officially came out... The Kinder Joy is officially coming to the US and the ban has been lifted.   A Kinder Surprise Egg is a chocolate shaped egg with a small toy inside a capsule (usually needs to be assembled).  But the real question that I am wondering about is Kinder Joy as good as Kinder Surprise?

One evening when I was out I took some pictures when I found a Kinder Joy display.  I had Liam with me and I made him pose for a couple of photos and of course his personality and expressions are even so present here in the pictures.  

Despite his random expressions while getting his picture taken a few times he was a lot more happier later when he got to have his Kinder Joy's.  

Last but not least the other night Morrigan and I was out once again and we stopped at a Shell Gas Station and of course found a small display of Kinder Joy's but along with them there was a small Maltesers display and I thought Morrigan was about to have a fit... Talk about beyond excitement.  Altho she did find something to complain about due to the maltesers.  They was made in Canada instead of the UK.  The chocolate is supposed to taste better if made in the UK.  I have had good chocolate from Canada and from the UK as well.  The only real place I'd prefer not to get any chocolate from is the US.  Sorry guys but too many chemical additives and the chocolate produced in America just sucks.  Which could be/should be a article all on it's own for later.  But for now I am proud to show that finally somewhere in Jacksonville is starting to get a decent chocolate selection!  

If you're in the US have you found any Kinder Joy's yet?  If not you should go out and look for some and try it!   What about Maltesers?  Maltesers are better than Whoppers any day of the week!

#kinder #kindersurprise #kinderegg #kinderjoy  #thoughts #ramblings #opinions #ozhiya #alirivka

Sort:  

OMG YES! I love these and they finally have​ them here in the US!!! YAY!!!! Thanks, ​mum!

Must have been a bug in the system they didn't fix yet ha-ha enjoy your secret pleasures ^^.

I know right. Thanks!

I often eat it, my mom often buy it, I like toys that are inside

Do y'all have the Kinder Joy or the Kinder Surprise or both?

congragulation you find it! enjoy it untill us ban it! that Kinder Surprise Eggs has been banned in The United States since 1938!

Yeah I know and 1938 is a long time! I'm trying to enjoy all that I can as quickly as I can!

Now play with the hidden toys lol

Hey that's the best part! 😆

favorite one .

I agree! 🙂

It's kinda funny those were banned, but Pez dispensers were fine lol

LOL Yes I know!!! I know so many jokes surrounding Pez dispensers and any type of benzos...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
SBD 2.55