You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Eating Habits You Should STOP Right Now

in #food7 years ago

I heard it said that drinking coffee is not a substitute for drinking water. Is this true? I liked your debunking of myths in the post. Especially the breakfast one. Thank you.

Sort:  

Right. I see coffee as unnatural substance and as with anything unnatural the body must detox it. Fortunately, with the liquid in coffee at least it compensates for the bad stuff. Dry (bad) food is the worst because it takes the most work to dispel (rehydrating it, and eliminating through digestive system then cleaning up the remnants).

I personally don't drink coffee so I have no special reservations holding me back from discouraging it; but there's much worse things out there. Caffeine is a stimulant and somewhat similar to an amphetamine reactions and addictive behavior patterns.

Yes I know the caffeine is not a good thing. I guess it's a bad habit. I guess I just thought that since the coffee was say 90% water it would act like water once I drank. Thank you for your explanation.

Water is good; but its the chemicals that matter in this instance; if coffee was more diluted (more water to other content) im sure would be healthier but then can you tolerate the taste? haha

I'm not well researched on how liquids affect us just that they're absorbed much faster. That water gets pulled out pretty quick and into the blood, filtered through kidneys and dumped in bladder. - I would guess a little quicker than watermelon/fruit juice if the coffee doesn't have added sugar. Slower if it has added sugar; the body probably slows it down to avoid a rush of sugar that would be feeding bacteria.

That makes a lot of sense. Thank you your response.

great :) I know I need to refine my arguments; sometimes i can get complex for the average person but you seem to handle it well like me; and probably most of steem early adopters; we're the smart cats :)

You are the smart cat, I am just learning. I appreciate running across someone that I can banter with on an intellectual level (as much intelligence I can muster). This helps me educate myself and I hope you enjoy the volleying while I pick your brain. Thank you.

sounds great. I hope I don't get too overwhelmed as I grow comment-wise to find all the comments from u in the future :)

P.S. Will you start blogging?

I did 11 tips how to grow on steemit

Since I just discovered this platform, I am still very naive on how to use it and navigate around. As soon as I can get a handle on it I will definitely consider blogging. I enjoy getting opinions from other people so I can be better informed. I will check out the 11 tips link, thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43