My Morning Mojo

in #food7 years ago

022B8E59-47AA-4047-87CF-0C0C1A6D58D7.jpeg

Recently I’ve replaced my morning coffee with a rather intoxicating cocktail which I’ve concoted and refined over time. It’s healthy. And delicious. And feels far more decadent than it actually is.

It’s my guilt-free version of a chocolate egg cream. And it’s a wonderful treat or pick-me-up anytime of the day.

What you’ll need:

F5CC0B30-4DC8-4768-8D8E-E24F4898AAE1.jpeg

The ingredient list is light:

  • 1 heaping tbsp fine, full-fat dark cocoa or cacao (lighter versions will not blend)
  • 4-8 Oz. Milk of choice; I use coconut but dairy, almond, cashew, or any other works
  • A couple drops or equivalent of Stevia - or sweetener of choice
  • 12 Oz. Seltzer - I use coconut here, too
  • 1/4 tsp maca powder (optional)

Mix all ingredients except the seltzer until well blended. You can throw them in a blender. I just put them into a small mason jar and shake vigorously for about a minute.

92CD2D8D-FB93-4285-B6D0-6EDCC8A3F8FE.jpeg

At this point you can consume it immediately. However, I find that both the taste and texture improve after sitting in the fridge for at least a couple of hours. So I tend to make this the night before.

AA590169-5466-4C80-8F61-32C07968F5C6.jpeg

When you’re ready to enjoy it, pour the cocoa-milk mixture into a large glass - I use a 32 Oz. RED mason jar mug. Slowly add the seltzer, stirring gently as you go. Add a straw and enter nirvana!

It’ll be gone before you know it.

DC03A353-D112-4952-82F6-F042A4128672.jpeg

Sort:  

As a morning caffeine fiend, I would add kola nut powder to that but I think I have some good inspiration right there

Ah yes! I’m hyper sensitive to caffeine. When I do coffee it’s decaf. So this concoction is plenty for me. 😄

hi @outrayjust, good photo, did i vote and resteem..😊

Good recipe, I did not know or I have not tried something like that, it looks very good

a warm and pleasant morning drink when enjoyed. @outrayjust

Except...that...it’s...cold 😳

I am a coffee lover, I really believe that I can not live without taking it as it is, I think that this recipe is very rich

I’m not sure what you mean.

I really do not like coffee alone, but with these combinations it's perfect, that looks delicious @outrayjust

Thanks...though there’s no coffee here. 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67724.53
ETH 2606.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72