A Sacred Request

in #food6 years ago (edited)

This is an older poem of mine and I thought I would break it out of the shadows and share it with you. I reference WWII images because this is the time in which our food production became extremely industrial. I mean no disrespect to the modern women through my words I find that the issues of agriculture affect us all in a profound way. I truly believe that we need to return to a Smaller.Slower.Smarter. way of living in harmony with the land. I myself love to play in soil and plant seeds and watch them grow. I hope to inspire a few more beings to do so in their walks of life. I hope you enjoy my poem in regards to our need for healthier food choices.

A Sacred Request

I respectfully request
That you Rosie turn in your rivets
The Earth is calling
Pick up a garden tool
A cooking pot
Discover wild foods
Learn your ancestral diets.
The war is over
The men are home,
You’re not alone
Now What?
Work all day,
Forget the kitchen,
And the garden
Buy Some Campbell’s
Use the microwave
The drive-thru
This is the good life
A new war begins
Chemicals, GMO’s
In American Food
Agriculture is Big now

I beg, I grovel, I request,
Revert to Ancestral food choices
Gather some herbs from the forest,
Raise some hens, have a beehive, cook at home.
Share a meal with your family and friends.
Drink some raw milk, and let them quiver,
Eat some locally raised pastured meat, and really enjoy it
Get to know your farmers, and your ranchers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52