You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE EDIBLE OUTDOORS #5 - Sassafras

in #food8 years ago (edited)

I'm based in England and there used to be a herbalist who brewed and sold the root tea . It was served in pint mugs . The aroma in the shop was divine as was the drink. Its well worth it. I've tried growing it here but with no luck

Sort:  

Back in the 1800s in England, there was a popular drink called "saloop" which used Sassafras as the main ingredient. I actually drink finished a glass of the root tea as I was noticing your comment. The scent certainly is a pleasant aroma.

..... 1800's ? I'm old but not that old ...I'm talking fourty odd years back though...

I was just mentioning that Sassafras has a history of being enjoyed in your country. I never meant for you to think that I thought you were two hundred and some years old.

It was the #2 export behind tobacco. They believed it cured everything but especially syphilis which was just taking off apparently

Interesting history. Thanks @sireland!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58