Turning Cacao into Chocolate ~ A Caribbean Love Story

in #food7 years ago

IMG_4794.jpg

Today I'm going to Make Magic

Well, let's call it Alchemy. For what is chocolate, but the creation of Beta-5 Crystals from the cacao bean. Yep, technically that's all it is. Actually, it's a whole lot of work. And after this post, I will start the all day endeavor just to get 3 kilos of my own grown, farm cacao, curated to perfection, into the Melanger. Then tomorrow, is a whole other day of chocolate work. But we save that for another post.

Being a cacao farmer

Not for the average bear, that's for sure. It requires patience, (otherwise you might lose you temper; I am talking about your chocolate temper, which renders your chocolate bar hard, yet melts in your mouth.)

Nothing about chocolate is easy. But then again, not just anyone can make it, nor grow the precious cacao beans to transmute into chocolate. It requires skill and patience.

IMG_4810.JPG

Sun-dried cacao beans

So wish me luck and patience today Steemians to get through this process of roasting and milling and winnowing cacao into the chocolate Melanger.
Sending you all so much love.

Please Up-vote this post, or Resteem and Follow:
@organiccacao.png

Sort:  

cant wait for the post on how to make real chocolate!!

Actually, I am making REAL chocolate. This is step 1: Roasting the cacao and winnowing it, and making the nibs. (It's taken me all day to get to this point.) Now I will second mill the nibs into powder and then slowly load the Melanger (or grinder) that will work the powdered cacao into cacao liquor. I will add the 28% sugar 8 hours later and then let her work herself through the night. Tomorrow comes the tempering and molding. Yes, a process.

That's what I meant when I said "real chocolate". I'm thinking the store bought stuff doesn't come close to what you are doing. Your is the real deal!

Thank you my dear, @silverstring. I just passed the day tempering and molding and now I will start to wrap the bars in time for tomorrows farmers market. Sending you so much love and pura vida.

Wish I could buy some from you.

When is your next trip to Costa Rica @silverstring?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61065.80
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53