How To Prepare Groundnut soup

in #food6 years ago

Hello steemians I know most of you are always interested in African dishes and have been yawning to have a taste of it ...

Today I will be writing on how I prepared my favorite soup last night -groundnut soup
Groundnut soup Is a common but delicious soup majorly prepared by the Ghanaians and those from the southern part of Nigeria especially the Binis
It is eaten with either Eba or Akpu
But I ate mine with Eba

This are the ingredients used for preparing groundnut soup

1.500g raw peeled groundnuts(grounded with crayfish)

2.meat (Beef)

  1. Smoked fish

4.Dry fish

5.Stock fish

6.Palm Oil

7.small bunch of Pumpkin leaves(ugu)

8.Soup seasoning(maggi)

9.Salt (to taste)

10.grounded pepper

11.onions.

How to prepare
1.Before I started cooking I soaked the dryfish, stockfish and smoked fish in hot water for 10mins ,their removed the bone from the smoked fish and put all the fish in small bowl

2.I washed and boiled the meat for some minutes and allowed it to get soft before bringing it down ,When the meat began to boil I added the seasoning, crayfish, pepper and salt to taste. I transferred the meat to another bowl.

3.I poured some palm oil into the pot and allowed to heat for some minutes, before adding the sliced onions.

4.I added the ground groundnuts and stir very well till there are no lumps then Reduce the heat very low and start cooking.

5.while I was still cooking, I added the grounded pepper ,the soup seasoning and also salt to taste

  1. I Cooked till a thin film of clear oil appears on the surface. This process took about 10mins ,then I added the meat, smoked fish, dry fish and stock fish and I stirred and reduced the heat till it starts boiling

  1. I Added the vegetables, stir and leave to simmer. Stir again and it was done.

And that was I prepared my groundnut soup and served my friends with Eba.

I hope you really learnt alot from and will also prepare yours very soon.

Groundnut soup is not just a nutritious food it also has some health benefits, and also a medicinal value to the body because of the ingredients used in cooking it such as vegetables, onions and others

Some of the health Benefits of Groundnut soup includes.

1.Groundnut are reach in vitamin and contains about 12 different type of vitamin such as Vitamin A, B, C and E. Groundnut are also
rich in 25 essential minerals like boron, zinc calcium which help in the brain development.

2.Groundnuts also contain amino acids and are good source of dietary protein – which is essential for growth and development.

3.Groundnut are beneficial in the treatment of
inherited blood disorders such as hemophilia,and also helpful in reducing excessive menstruation bleeding in women.

Sort:  

Awesome!!!


I so love this. Waohhh. I like your approach, now I've learnt another way of making groundnut soup. I've never prepared it with leaves, also, I do make use of fried groundnuts, I see you made use of fresh peeled groundnut! Interestingly, I posted my version of groundnut soupabout two weeks ago tho'.
IMG_9709[1].JPG


I am so thrilled when see guys that know how to cook!
Thumbs up bro!!
Cheers!!!


You got a 1.80% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @omefeonyinye!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55