Vegan Food Shop - #4

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Before I get into this edition of Vegan Shop I would just like to say that I will be reducing the amount of posts I Author per week. I have been posting every day, or sometimes twice a day, for nearly a month just to test the waters of Steemit so to speak.

I have been spending an average of 3 hours per post. That is 21 hours roughly per week. But doing the math it turns out that the effort/reward needs to be balanced more. So instead I will be releasing around 3 posts per week but increase the quality of them. I will spend less time overall but more time individually on something I Author. This way I can justify continuing with my posts and also deliver better quality content to those that view it.

In addition to these changes, I will shift from %80 of my posts merely talking about things to %80 of my posts being about me going and seeing and doing real things. It more fun and enjoyable for me and as content for people to view. So with this in mind, I will be focusing on 3 main areas from now on:

1) More days out doing cool things, visiting awesome places and beautiful natural environments.

2) I will continue with posts that contain helpful information about flexibility training, science and spirituality.

3) I will post once a week a full Vegan Shop I do, rather than several small shops like I have been doing.

I will be releasing the third and final part of my Gloucester Cathedral tour this weekend or early next week too. So look out for that because the views from the top of the tower are truly outstanding!

The Shop

IMG_0230fbddf.jpg

Butternut Squash

IMG_02380ec1d.jpg

This was a lovely soup. Squashes are generally very low in fat content but a very pure source of carbohydrates. They have excellent quantities of dietary fibre witch is great for maintaining a health digestive system. While this vegetable has the usual assortment of essential vitamins and minerals it also packs a massive punch in terms of vitamin A.

Just one serving can offer more than %400 of your recommended daily intake! "Vitamin C helps protect cells and keep them healthy," states Marie Murphy, a nutrition scientist at the British Nutrition Foundation. It does this by acting as an anti-inflammatory, also with immune enchaining properties too.

ca597e2c3b847cbf6882617af3dce139063f8.jpg

Organic White Bread

IMG_0231b507d.jpg

Okay, so this is not so exciting, but bread is a great source of carbs and being low on these can lead to an unbalanced mood. Plus who has soup without bread?! Hahaha

Organic Brazil Buts

IMG_0232a47c3.jpg

My Nan used to eat these every day and swore that they helped her maintain great skin and hair. Personally I think it was all the swimming and bike riding she did even into her old age and defiantly a good diet is no substitute for an active lifestyle. But ever since I heard her tout the greatness of these as a young adult I started eating them more often along with other nuts and seeds. I was lucky really because most of my family were vegetarians and kept themselves fit with some form of exercise or physical hobby they enjoyed doing.

brazilnutinfo7c7f8.jpg

Tomatoes

IMG_023467686.jpg

Tomatoes are one of the few foods that are considered both a fruit and vegetable. They certainly are sweet like fruits and I enjoy the baby variety because they are a quick and easy to eat mess free snack.

The Organic Facts website has the following to say about tomatoes:

The health benefits of tomatoes include improved eye sight, good stomach health, and reduced blood pressure, as well as relief from diabetes, skin problems and urinary tract infections. Furthermore, tomatoes can increase digestion, stimulate blood circulation, reduce cholesterol levels, improve fluid balance, protect the kidneys, detoxify the body, prevent premature aging, and reduce inflammation and related conditions. Tomatoes consist of a large number of antioxidants that have been proven to fight different forms of cancer. It is a rich source of vitamins and minerals and exerts a protective effect against cardiovascular diseases.

Figs

Fresh, undried figs are a really tasty nutritious treat. I like to eat them over the dried version because 1) they are fresh and so have more nutrients, and 2) because the dried versions have more sugar calories and less nutrients overall. Always buy fresh wherever you can. That is when the food is most alive with goodness to impart to the body. Fresh fruit and veg is always better for you and tastes better too, especially if you buy organic. They also contain good amounts of the very healthy omega-3 and omega-6 fats and are low in sodium, making them a great super food for heart health. This except from healthyeating.com explains like so: Figs are particularly heart-healthy. High potassium levels combined with low sodium levels help lower blood pressure, and high levels of polyphenol antioxidants help prevent atherosclerosis. A 3.5-ounce serving of dried figs contains up to 50 times the polyphenol content of most other fruits, according to Eugene A. DeFelice, M.D., author of the book "Nutrition and Health: Web Resource Guide for Consumers, Healthcare Providers, Patients and Physicians." Figs also contain omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids and phytosterol compounds, which help lower cholesterol levels and preserve the flexibility of your arteries. Their fiber binds to cholesterol, helping to eliminate it from your body. Blueberries I included this titan super food in my last instalment of Vegan Food Shop and they were a very special type too. So I will link that article here for you to view: https://steemit.com/food/@onesunbeingnow/vegan-food-shop-3-health-food-superstore-haul Raw Fruit and Nut Bars I love raw fruit and nut bars. For what they offer, they are cheap, filling and very healthy. I will likely do a whole post on eating raw vegan foods at some point because of how purifying it is for ones being. Here is their official websites page for this particular bar: https://www.naturalbalancefoods.co.uk/nakd-fruit-and-nut-bars/nakd-cocoa-orange-bar/ I always look for how simply made and foods are. The less proceed the better. So having no additives and raw ingredients makes these types of bars a great addition to one’s diet. An awesome desert for sure. You can also buy these in small cubes to include with things like soya yogurts for example. This is also really tasty! Fresh Lemon Juice My drink for today was some of the finest fresh lemonade around. It was really good. Apart from buying whole lemons and making the juice yourself, this is the next best thing. Lemons are great for smooth digestion and are great for flushing out nasty stuff due to their antioxidant properties - foodmatters.com says this about the health benefits of lemons: Lemon, a fruit popular for its therapeutic properties, helps maintain your immune system and thus, protects you from the clutches of most types of infections. It also plays the role of a blood purifier. Lemon is a fabulous antiseptic and lime-water juice also works wonders for people having heart problems, owing to its high potassium content. So, make it a part of your daily routine to drink a glass of warm lemon water in the morning and enjoy its health benefits. Thanks for viewing this post today and have a great day! BYE! :) Previous instalments: https://steemit.com/food/@onesunbeingnow/vegan-food-shop-3-health-food-superstore-haul Vegan Food Shop - #1: https://steemit.com/food/@onesunbeingnow/vegan-food-shop-1 Vegan Food Shop - #2: https://steemit.com/food/@onesunbeingnow/vegan-food-shop-2 Vegan Food Shop - #3: https://steemit.com/food/@onesunbeingnow/vegan-food-shop-3-health-food-superstore-haul If you enjoyed this post and would like to see more from me then please feel free to / https://postimg.org/image/u1uvigvt5/

Sort:  

3 is a magic number :)

Figs are one of my favorite foods! We are blessed with fig trees, and it is an absolute delight to pick them fresh in the morning.

Me too. You are blessed to be able to pick them literally fresh. Picking and eating food within a few hours of doing so is the best, and truly fresh. I used to help my Dad with an allotment when I was younger and I loved how much better the food tasted after just being picked!

I love Brazil nuts! Just one brazil nut gives you over 100% of your daily recommended amount of selenium, probably why your Nan had such great hair & skin!

haha yea I think it does have beatifying effects :D

the Nakd bars with orange are my favorites as well ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63