What is the best recipe for Potato Soup?

in #food6 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io

Ok, I make it all from scratch, so first thing,

Soup Stock

  • 2 medium onions
  • 10 medium carrots, I like to use small to medium carrots for a better flavor
  • 10 medium celery stocks, again small to medium for better flavor

Chop the onions, carrots and celery into small pieces, add to 2 liters (1/2 gallon) of water in stock pot and cook on medium heat until the carrots are very soft.  This next step is something I do because I like the flavor and taste, I add one tablespoon of oregano to the stock at this point and then remove the soup  from the heat.  I let it rest for about a half hour, this lets the oregano do it's magic!  use a fine strainer and strain the stock from the ingredients.  Now again what I do for the sake of quality is I put the stock in the fridge over night and let all those flavors meld together.  The next day you will need:

  • 7 to 10 medium potatoes
  • one cup fresh kernel corn
  • one cup fresh cream
  • one tablespoon fresh dill

Chop the potatoes in small pieces and add them to the stock, add the corn to the stock, adjust the heat to a med-high temp to get the potatoes cook.  Once the potatoes are soft lower the heat to a low-medium temperature and use a hand held blender and blend the soup until the potatoes and the corn are blended into the soup to a fine texture ( If you end up with some corn pulp after you have blended the soup real good, you can strain it out, I keep it in, for a nice texture, but not all people like that). Now add the cream to the soup as you stir constantly, add the cream slowly to ensure a good fusion, now add the dill and let the soup simmer on a low temp for a few minutes, serve and enjoy.

One other thing that can be done is once the soup is done you can add some small pieces of sausage, like an Italian or my favorite, a sausage with paprika ( to good! ).  I pre-cook the sausage in a pan before I add it to the soup.  Use a non stick pan and cook the sausage at a med temp.  Once the sausage is cooked well enough add it and all of the rendered out juice and fat from the sausage to the soup, flavor, flavor, flavor!  Like I said the sausage is an option, it is very good with or without it!  

Side note, the reason I use the corn is for the starch, as a thickening agent, some people prefer to use powered corn starch, which is fine.  But for me I love the flavor of fresh ingredients, so that is why I use kernel corn.  Another option is when served in the bowl you can add some finely shredded mozzarella cheese or Edam cheese, a nice touch, but not to much!  a small amount is all that is needed! 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54604.00
ETH 2294.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34