TASTY TREAT TUESDAY #14 - 🍓Strawberry Rhubarb Upside Down Cake🍰

in #food6 years ago

cake

I don't know who invented upside down cakes, but whoever it was, was a genius. They are not only delicious (hello, it's cake!) but they also look a treat, with fairly minimal effort. No mixing up special frostings, and fussing about, trying to achieve a perfect finish. With just a few moments of forethought, laying things out on the bottom of the pan, your result is going to be beautiful all on its own! (Plus, let's not forget, skipping the frosting = that much less caloric intake!)

This beauty was put together as dessert for a family dinner with my sis + wifey before their big move out of province. I'm always on the lookout for tasty gluten free dessert options. Yes, of course, we can always substitute regular all-purpose flour for gluten-free all-purpose flour, but in all honesty, those flour mixes can be pretty hit-or-miss. And I, personally, am not a fan of cardboard-flavored cake. 😝 So, when I was poking around, looking for inspiration for dessert ideas for dietary restrictions, and came across this almond cake I knew I had to try it. I already had the almond meal on hand from my adventures in making macarons, plus we had a flat of strawberries, and a rhubarb bush right outside my door.

strawbarb

Plan = made!

So let's take a peek at how I did it!




The first thing you need to do when making and upside down cake is to do the bottom... er, top...

Figure out the fruit you're going to use (in my case, strawberries and rhubarb), and cut them into your desired shapes.

cut

Grease the sides, and line the bottom of a 9" springform pan with parchment, and sprinkle on some sugar.

sugar

Now lay out your fruit in a pretty pattern. This is going to be the most time consuming part of the whole thing, but to me it's worth it. I'm a bit compulsive when it comes to this stuff, but you can make the design as simple or complex as you wish.

pattern

The cake itself is really very simple, and really makes up for any time you've used up in laying out your design. Just cream your butter and/or coconut oil (I chose to use some of both, as I wanted to keep the dairy to a minimum, but didn't want to have an overly "coconutty" tasting cake) with the sugar.

oilnsugar

Then mix in your salt and vanilla, and the eggs, one at a time. (Make sure you scrape down your bowl after each egg, to ensure it's all evenly mixed.)

creamy

Last but not least, sift in your almond flour. You could just pour it straight in, but I like to sift it, in case there are any larger pieces in there. No chunks in my cake, thank you! 😉

flour

The batter will be creamy and thick.

batter

Spoon it into your pan, over the fruit, and spread it very gently. You don't want to knock things around, after spending the time to make such a pretty pattern! Then lift the pan and gently tap it on the counter a couple times, to knock out any big air bubbles... GENTLY! (In my experience, sometimes the bottom of springform pans can pop out, and you do not want that to happen right now! 😱)

pan

Bake it at 350°F for 50-55 min, until a tester (aka toothpick) inserted in the center comes out clean. When it's done, take it out and very carefully run a knife around the edges, to ensure it's released from the sides of the pan. Place a plate over the pan, and quickly but carefully flip it over. Remove the pan, peel off the parchment, and allow the cake to cool.

hotcake

That's it! Now, wasn't that simple?

The cake is moist, almost creamy, and not overly sweet. The sugar over the fruit helps to caramelize it ever so slightly, and cuts the tartness of the rhubarb. Oh, and that little bit of tart tastes amazing with the sweet and creamy cake.

slice

I served reasonably small slices, since we were having dessert a fairly short time after finishing dinner. It went over so well that we all went back for seconds. 😅

It's a nice change from the usual cake, and a much lighter option. I hope that some of you will give it a try! And if you do, be sure to let me know how it turns out!

Sort:  

This cake looks to good to be so simple! Strawberries are one of my favorite fruits.It probably tasted amazing.

haha Well thank you! It was very tasty. Sometimes simple things are the best.

I told you, you are truly Candy wizard @offbeatbroad :)

lol! Thank you @jungwatercolor! (I think I need to paint that and use it for my new avatar.)

Omg 😍
This looks insane
Like insanely amazing

lol Thanks! It was quite good. And I feel like pretty food usually tastes better. 😊

This looks too good and those strawberries turned into perfect little hearts

This looks too good and
Those strawberries turned into
Perfect little hearts

                 - artwatch


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you! Haha Yeah, I'm not typically a heart fan, but I couldn't resist accentuating the shape, once I started cutting out the hulls. 😊

Hi offbeatbroad,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you so much for all the support @curie! 💖

It is indeed a great recipe and taste amazing too. And it does require a certain skill and may I say skill not to burn fruits during the baking process. Great post!

What a great recipe. Thanks for sharing! It looks delicious.😋

Thanks very much!

Yummy! Great cake! I like it!
( I would be happy if you could take a look at my latest drawing:)

! Then mix in your salt and vanilla, and the eggs, one at a time

Well, you and I only have one life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93