You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stop Boiling the Vegetables!

in #food7 years ago

Great list! I really don't know how the old-style cookbooks got ahold of the idea that you should cook vegetables as if they were spaghetti. Could it be a legacy technique from the days when veggies were sometimes overripe?

Anyhoo, that's just trivia.

Sort:  

That's an interesting question! I have no idea. I gather that, in part, some of it might be from the culture gleaning off of a new wife's fear of not knowing how to cook. The book I was reading was written with that sort of tone "Husbands rave over these cheesy peas!" etc, and so I assume boiling was an accessible means of doing the "healthy" thing.

Could be...I was wondering about the instruction to boil in salted water.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63047.55
ETH 2690.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54