What The HECK Was I thinking About Going VEGAN!

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Hi I'm Marissa, and omg where do I start about this whole thing!

h.png

It all started with a “netflix and chill” session(all by myself) watching a documentary called What The Health. One of my best friends called me up insisted that I MUST watch the viral film. He said “it’s going to change your life”.….and it did, well at least I think it did hehe. I never thought that in all my life I would even THINK about going vegan much less actually doing it. What the health is a very well put together documentary about a filmmaker Kip Andersen that not only exposes the sickening truths when it comes to the ties of major health organizations and the greed of money, but it also reveals how to prevent and reverse diseases that many people suffer from today with diet.!

“I’m probably going to learn a lot, but not enough to go vegan” is what I thought in my head before the film even started. Amazingly, within the 1st 15 minuets I. WAS. HOOKED. I could not believe I was hearing about what I thought I knew about the correlation between diet and sickness.

Screen Shot 2018-02-08 at 2.04.14 PM.png

In the past, many friends and associates of mine have tried to “open” my eyes about making the switch from being a meat eater to a rabbit food muncher by almost guilt tripping me on how animals are being tortured and killed. OOH MYYY GOOOOOSH! If I had a nickel for every disturbing video someone showed me on how animals were being slaughtered for our tastebuds I’d be riiiicccc….well I’d have about $0.40 because come on… I could take so much of those videos.

Screen Shot 2018-02-08 at 2.06.49 PM.png

I LOOOVE animals and I hate to say this, but while the whole animal cruelty angle made me sad it was never enough to make me turn down a nice pan seared or grilled chicken breast with the perfect amount of creamy mashed potatoes loaded with butter and cheese. I mean look! Every ounce in a while I would look down at a juicy steak and wonder what that cow would be doing if it wasn’t on my plate, but I still devoured it and didn’t really think anything of it. My ears perked up a bit it when I heard that eating processed meats like bacon and hot dogs is basically just as bad as smoking cigarets. The world health organization classifies processed meat as a group 1 carcinogen, witch is in the same class as smoking tobacco!

Screen Shot 2018-02-08 at 2.16.57 PM.png

I will be documenting as much as I can on my unique transition from a meat and dairy eater to consuming a complete plant based diet AKA rabbit food muncher. You can expect to gain a lot of value from what I will be sharing as I am learning sooooo much. I’m going to show some of the best vegan recipes, insane vegan facts, an busting a ton of myths about veganism that you have probably heard most of your life.

14448991_341932572812860_5741827011205955809_n.jpg

I’ve been transitioning to becoming a full on a vegan for about a month now. I’m kind of in between a vegetarian and a vegan right now. I would say I’ve been about 85% vegan and 15% vegetarian. For those that didn't know there was a difference there is…A vegetarian basically only cuts out meat but will still have dairy products. I’m going to share the good, bad, and the ugly on what this journey has been like so far and the results I've FELT.

So stay tuned and feel free to follow me. Up vote me on posts you’ve found value you in :) and leave a comment so I can say hi.

Sort:  

I would suggest watching Earthlings. Thats might get over the edge. Ive been Vegan now for almost 2 years and feel amazing, both mentally and physically.

cool I'll have to check that out! It already feels great :) I can't wait to see how I feel years from now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66504.03
ETH 3578.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.03