IN SEARCH OF THE BEST BURGER - VOL 1: THE FIRST IDEAS

in #food8 years ago (edited)

It is 11pm and I have just arrived home from yet another disappointing burger restaurant experience.  Dry meat, soggy bun and a blunt sauce.  How can something which looks simple to cook, be so easily messed up by chefs all around?  After months of absence from the kitchen, I have decided to return and find out myself.  I will begin a journey of 'research', gathering of ideas and of course cooking.  My mission:  To make the best burger I have ever eaten in my entire life!  

This first article is nothing but an initial brainstorming and hopefully a few ideas by other Steem users.  By the end of this week,  I will have started the cooking process which will continue until I am satisfied I have created the best burger I have ever tasted.  If enough people are interested, I will continue to post updates through new articles and pictures!  Feel free to begin your own journey or participate in this one.  Don't forget to send me a link if you are joining.  


CHALLENGE 1: THE MEAT

Beef seems to be the straight forward choice.  But which cut?  I like the 'beefy' taste but it needs to contain enough fat to keep it moist.  My first choice would be a combination of sirloin (for the meaty flavor) and chuck to add the necessary fat.  Later on during my journey I will experiment with short rib and brisket. 


To make things a bit more interesting I will make a second patty to which I will add 1/3 of ground lamb or pork.  If I can find shoulder of lamb I will go with that, otherwise I will just choose pork.  The burgers have to be relatively thick and I will cook them medium (beef and pork mix) and medium-rare (just beef).


 CHALLENGE 2: THE BUN

Baking any kind of bread is something that I have never tried before in my life.  Therefore for this part of the challenge, I will keep things simple.  I will visit my local bakery and buy from what they have available.  I will try to get a soft bun with a slight hint of sweetness.  Good toasting is important to avoid sogginess.  


CHALLENGE 3: THE TOPPINGS

I will choose 1 or 2 recipes from the following 3 for my first burger, depending on the availability of ingredients.

  • Avocado, brie cheese and fried egg

I will also add dijon mustard, tomato, lettuce, ketchup and mayo


  • Blue cheese sauce, caramelised onions, sheep cheese and bacon

I will also add arugula and butter to help toast the buns.


  • Jack Daniel's sauce, baked camembert and bacon 

I will also add a slice of cheddar cheese


So this is how my 'burger journey' begins.  Any cooking suggestions, recipes and ideas are greatly appreciated!  A detailed report, pictures and of course a review will be posted soon.

Sort:  

This shit can cause cancer.... Eat clean!

Yes there is some research out there about the relationship between red meat consumption and carcinogenic factors. Personally though I believe that the real enemy is not meat or fat, but sugar. I will post another article on this soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43