6 DELICIOUS GREEK FOODS YOU NEVER HEARD OF BUT HAVE TO TRY!

in #food8 years ago (edited)

These are my 6 favourite foods from the Greek cuisine.  If you would like a recipe, let me know.

1.  Fasolada 

Extra large beans baked in the oven with sausage and a delicious, creamy tomato sauce.  Serve with olive oil and a bit of Feta.  


2. Giouvarlakia Avgolemono

Pork or Lamb meatballs, served in a thick, creamy egg and lemon soup.  


3.  Galatompoureko

Crunchy filo pastry with a semolina custard filling.  Covered with sweet, warm sugar syrup.    


4.  Sountzoukakia

Lamb and Pork meatballs mixed with garlic and spices.  Cooked slowly in a tomato sauce.  Served with rice or oven potatoes!


5.  Stifado

Basically a stew cooked with lamb, rabbit or in some areas of Greece, octopus.  Served with rice and onions.


6.  Giouvetsi

Orzo pasta (kritharaki in Greek) cooked in the oven with your choice of meat and the most rich, delicious tomato sauce.  Usually covered with cheese.

Sort:  

Hey, I just joined Steemit. Can you go upvote my post and more importantly make a comment for me - I'll help you if you help me!

Thanks,
Sarah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59972.21
ETH 2389.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42