NomadCouple in Italy: Give me ALL the Prosciutto!

in #food7 years ago

We spent about a month in the Emilia-Romagna region of Italy last fall and it was foodie heaven. Parmesan Reggiano, the best balsamic vinegar in the world, pasta for days, but our favorite was the Prosciutto di Parma. Now we've had real prosciutto in the US, and even some in France, but it was nowhere near as good as the stuff we had straight from the purveyor in Parma, Italy.

static1.squarespace.jpg

On certain occasions, cliches can and should be embraced. “Aged to Perfection,” for one, kind of exasperates me, but when it comes to Prosciutto, this is a saying that I wholeheartedly use, and have seen the results of a 16 month controlled aging process. Prosciutto in this region isn’t overly fatty or salty. The cured presence of salt and fat distinctly infuses the leanness of each prosciutto leg with a flavor that is all its own. I mean that literally. The taste is distinct, its history becomes apparent with every paper thin morsel that you pop in your mouth. The result is like no other cured meat we have ever tried, and the only question that arises when you return from food bliss is, “Can I have another slice...Grazie!”

static1.squarespace-1.jpg

static1.squarespace-2.jpg

static1.squarespace-3.jpg

static1.squarespace-4.jpg

Best enjoyed with friends, some cheese, and an Aperol Spritz!

IMG_7902.jpg

Thanks for stopping by! All images ©Jayme Burrows Please follow us to see more of our foodie adventures around the globe. @nomadcouple

Sort:  

yumy

Italy has the best and tastest cuisine in the world. Salami, prosciutto, porchetta, pasta, pizza,formaggi, gelato, tiramisu, prosecco, spritz, caffe italiano: yummy ,yummy. I love them all. Love Italia !!!

Right?! I'm pretty sure Justin and I each gained a few kg's while we were there. The quality is just so outstanding there, it's hard not to indulge. ~Jayme

Foodie heaven, I can see that. Amazing photos, love them. Hard to pick a favorite, they are all good, but I do like the last one a lot.

Thanks @gringalicious! That moody window light makes things pretty, but it's hard to top a sexy plate of cured meat and cocktails :)

I agree, I totally agree

Excellent lighting in those shots @nomadcouple! Beautifully written too! Keep up the great work

Wow, great photos and post @nomadcouple. I also recently visited Italy - Naples, Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi. I can't wait to go back and visit other parts of Italy. I shared a post today with some of my own snaps taken with my x100t. I've upvoted and followed - please check out my blog and follow for regular updates!

Look forward to your future posts!

Happy to follow you as well @the.ordinary I've never been to any of those places in Italy, but I hear that the Amalfi Coast is spectacular.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67557.12
ETH 3500.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70